Bahamian Mahi Mahi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I put this to marinade at 11 and cooked it at 4. "No Taste" as my husband said. I found it palatable when I pressed the fish into the lemon slice and then dipped it in tartar sauce - which I only had for the kids' fish sticks. Admittedly, I did use white rum, since it was all I had on hand, and, perhaps, it would have made a difference; I don't know. I will not be making this again. It was VERY easy, but without taste, it's just not worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A. Milan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Well, I don't think I will make this a second time. The marinade didn't give much flavor to the fish. I will admit that the rum I used was white, not dark...since that was what I had on hand. Perhaps the dark rum would have made this a winner? I'm skeptical. Thanks anyway...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
good flavor ; easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I made what I believe to be a critical error when preparing this recipe. Without the error, it's quite possible I may have been able to rate it five stars. As it is, I'm being generous in giving it three stars. As a fair compromise, I'm giving this dish four stars. My mistake was forgetting the butter as I prepared the fish for the oven. The butter would have given the fish a richer, fuller flavor - no doubt. As it was, the marinade, spices, lemon and onion provided a decent flavor, but I have a feeling the butter would have put it over the top. Next time I won't argue with my wife until I'm DONE cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
This was a huge hit! Make sure you turn the fish at least once while it's marinating. Cook at 350 (not 325) if you have a thick fillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
If its not too late I recomend you stop making this recipie and try something else. I want my money back. Im pissed, I waited 3 hours for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Sorry, too bitter for our taste. I felt bad for wasting this otherwise wonderful fish. On the up-side, this was very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPA_G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
A beautiful presentation with the lemons on the fish and sprinkled with the oregano. I served the fish with rice and a spinach/strawberry salad. Nice flavor on the fish, next time I will marinade longer. I marinaded about 2 hours, but the flavors could have been stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
I thought this was a fabulous recipe! I marinated the fish for only two hours and it was well flavored. My husband loved it! Definitely a keeper for our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
This recipe is easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Ginger-Glazed Mahi Mahi

This easy glaze is rich-tasting yet light and healthy.

Chef John's Mahi Mahi Ceviche

See how to make a refreshing chilled fish salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States