Bagna Cauda Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is a love it or hate it thing and I love it. My wife hated it until she got pregnant and has now loved it for the last 30 years. My family's recipe used half as much cream and it's a 50% half and half and 50% heavy cream mix but otherwise it's the same recipe and I have tried using olive oil and gave up, it just isn't the same unless it's all butter. You can dip anything in it, most any vegetable, bread, cheese, fingers, I especially like the end of a loaf of hard bread. Just take and smush in the bread so you have a small bowl of the crust then scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Like another reviewer, for a New Year's Day feast, my Italian family has had the tradition of cooking bagna cauda for several decades. We, also, use olive oil instead of cream and simmer the mixture in a frying pan until all the ingredients are melded. One addition suggested by a newcomer to our celebration was to use pineapple as part of the "dipping" foods. We also use cheese as a quick dip and it is very good on crusty bread (which is the showpiece food in my family). For those that don't like achovies, you will never know they are in the sauce. Felice Mangiare!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I grew up eating this and sadly my husband doesn't like it and I LOVE it. We did not put cream in -- just the butter, garlic and anchovies. We used celery cabbage and we dipped pickled peppers and mushrooms and swiss chard, also the crusty bread and let it drip on that. Makes my mouth water to think about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Oxley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
My dad grew up in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan where many nationalities settled in search of work in the mines. We're Scandinavian but I think we consider our "family dishes" to be pasties (Welsh) and bagna cauda (Italian). People seem to be in two camps with bagna - love it or hate it. I make it and invite my mom and sister over while my husband has to leave the house. Don't let that scare you - this is a delicious dish. Garlic lovers will love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
We make it with Anchovies and Tuna, butter EVOO, and massive amounts of garlic. Served with fresh baked italian bread. Man so good! Going to make some tonight. No milk or cream though, that would make it into a gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I grew up eating this dish in Argentina. We add chopped walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I use Bagna Cauda as a base for my clam sauce. I use olive oil instead of cream and add white wine and fresh clams. It's a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
My friends and I absolutely love this dish. We always have to make 3 different versions one regular, one without cream and one with tuna instead of anchovies. Tuna makes a great variation of this wonderful recipe. Also we saute the garlic and the anchovies/tuna for a bit before adding the other ingredients then blend till smooth after it cooks. The only time we refrigerate is the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taylorville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Like many Americans, for much of my life I totally avoided ever even trying anchovies. Then while dining in an Italian restaurant one evening, the host ordered anchovies to add to his spaghetti dish. I was intrigued,and gave them a try. I was quite surprised to discover that I REALLY liked the fishy/salty taste of these little fishies. The reason I bring up the above is because of the extreme flavor that the anchovies bring to this dip. If you don't like the strong flavor of anchovies, you probably won't like this dish. The garlic is just an added attraction! I have never been to Italy, so my exposure to Italian food has been entirely of the American variety. I have tried several variations of Bagna that are heavy on olive oil, and I found them less enjoyable. This version that uses heavy cream was - to my taste - truly excellent. Thank you Julie P. for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Good Bagna Cauda! This is a slightly different recipe than the one passed down in my family. It was a nice twist, but I prefer my recipe overall. I use only butter, garlic, and anchovy paste. But this recipe still was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States