Bagna Cauda Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Whoo, boy!, we just finished our bagna-cauda. It was delicious!. My granny used to do this for grand occasions, where there were at least ten people round the table, and to me, this bagna-cauda means good memories. Unfortunaley, by the time I asked my granny for the recipe she was already ninety-nine and she had forgotten the recipe!!. This recipe is extremely similar, except that, I'm thinking that she might have put more anchovies and garlic in it, plus a little olive oil and pepper. And we always served as fondue it in a founde pot to keep it hot. All in all, this is a wonderful recipe, even my husband who doesn't like anchovies loved it. A note for those who don't know what to serve it with, we eat it with boiled potato chunks, italian bread, celery, gren bell peppers, cooked broccoli and cauliflower, raw carrots, cooked green beans and steamed onions and boiled cardoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAVILU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
I thought we were the only family who ate this stuff LOL. My husbands family has passed this down a few generations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
THANK YOU JULIE!!! I love this recipe. A friends family used to make this every new years day and I have never been able to track down the recipe. SInce finding your recipe I have made this for 2 different parties and everyone loved it...even those who swore they would never touch an anchovy:) THANK YOU AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
OMG!!! Someone actually makes this recipe the same way (well almost) my dad did when I was a little girl. I'm now 56 years old. Most Bagna Calda recipes don't add the cream, but my dad always did. He actually added evaporated milk. This recipe is awesome - brings back some old memories !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
My family has been making this for years to go with fondue, but it is good for any occasion! I use 1 stick of butter, 2 can anchovies minced or chopped, lots and lots of fresh garlic, and some olive oil. I've never tried it with cream or chilling it first... I put everything in an electric skillet on med-low heat and let is simmer until the achovies dissolve in with the butter and garlic. Then we dip cabbage and bread into the sauce. Add bits of butter or olive oil if you need a bit more liquid after people have snacked for awhile. Rich and delicious!!! Don't forget to brush and use listerine for the next couple of days :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
My family has made this every year for Christmas as a tradition for 40 years. It is a northern Italian recipe. BUT we made it like the previous poster. NO CREAM... USE olive oil instead. It is all put in an electric skillet on medium heat in the center of a table. (HINT: duck tape the cord to the table and to the ground so no one trips over it.) Cook until the anchovies dissapate and the flavor sets in...about 30 minutes. Do not burn. We use 4 cubes butter, 4 cups olive oil, 4 cans anchovies and about 4 whole cloves of garlic. Add more as you eat and cook. We all swarm around the skillet with our skewers and dip in filet mignon, shrimp, lobster, cabbage, mushrooms and good crusty Italian bread. Indulge with a glass of wine too! It is fun to cook, eat and socialize. No one would ever know that there were anchovies in it. It is really garlicy and your house "reaks" of garlic for several days afterwards too! Every new person that tries it is very apprehensive at first but the next year they invite themselves and couldn't imagine a Christmas without it. I would not recommend anybody to use the cream. but that is just my opinions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
OH MY GOD! This is great. I thougt it might make an okay reception, but OH MY GOD! You taste it and go back for more more more!!!!!!!!! My guests stood in line around and any where near this dip. Thanks Julie P. Love it. AND all 10 guests LOVED it, even my 10 year old. I used healthy heart magarine and it was still great. Seriously make this with cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
didn't use cream, but olive oil. It was so good that we used it as a grilling sauce for shrimp. EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EndoMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I thought this was something only my dad made for my family on fondue night. When we do it, we use an electric skillet on med-low, start with two sticks of butter, some olive oil, approx. a whole garlic bulb, and the 2 cans of anchovies. Once we soak up most of the liquid, we add in another stick of butter if we want it. We also dip cabbage, veggies, meat, and bread in ours. I have never hear of/tried it with cream...bet it is good! I do not suggest mixing half cream and half olive oil. It's probably good either way, but not combined. Just don't burn the butter and cook it nice and slow until the anchovies dissolve...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flfishie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
And I thought WE were the only ones who ate this! We have this every New Year's - handed down through many generations of my family. We do it just a little different. We use 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 real butter and saute' the anchovies and garlic over low heat until they fall apart. We then put it in a fondue pot and add the cream about 6 oz. at a time. We fondue steamed cabbage wedges and raw mushrooms and catch the drips with the crusty Italian bread. When the bagna cauda starts to thicken, add some more cream and let warm up before dipping some more. When I was younger, we tried this out on our boyfriends. If they didn't like it or wouldn't try it, they weren't keepers! Luckily, my husband and brother-in-law love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States