Bagna Cauda Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
I hadn't even thought of this dip since i worked in Northern Italy for a few months in 1980 - it's a bit different than i remembed it but still good and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
I thought we were the only family who ate this stuff LOL. My husbands family has passed this down a few generations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
THANK YOU JULIE!!! I love this recipe. A friends family used to make this every new years day and I have never been able to track down the recipe. SInce finding your recipe I have made this for 2 different parties and everyone loved it...even those who swore they would never touch an anchovy:) THANK YOU AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
I am a garlic lover and when I came across this recipe, I thought it would really be good. Keep in mind: I can't think of ANYTHING that I don't like. I love to cook, especially different things. I had my family for Christmas day this year, and I told everyone they had be bring something different, something they hadn't made before. I thought this would be so much fun. Well, I chose to make this Bagna Cauda. Everyone in my family loves garlic as well, so I thought it would be a big hit. I'm sorry to say....this has to be the worst tasting stuff I have ever made or tasted! When I was making it...I thought, "I hope it tastes better than it smells!" Well...when I got some on my finger, and subconsciously I went to the sink to wash them, instead of the normal 'licking' it off...I knew I was in trouble! :-) But..I thought I'd still taste it and see. I have to be honest and tell you that I gagged. I couldn't even swallow it! I had crusty bread with it. I don't know what others see in this, but I, for one, won't ever make it again. About 5 other family members tried it, because they couldn't believe it could be 'that bad'. Well..they all agreed, hands down...it was horrible. I'm sorry! I guess it's something you had to grow up with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
My family has been making this for years to go with fondue, but it is good for any occasion! I use 1 stick of butter, 2 can anchovies minced or chopped, lots and lots of fresh garlic, and some olive oil. I've never tried it with cream or chilling it first... I put everything in an electric skillet on med-low heat and let is simmer until the achovies dissolve in with the butter and garlic. Then we dip cabbage and bread into the sauce. Add bits of butter or olive oil if you need a bit more liquid after people have snacked for awhile. Rich and delicious!!! Don't forget to brush and use listerine for the next couple of days :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
My family has made this every year for Christmas as a tradition for 40 years. It is a northern Italian recipe. BUT we made it like the previous poster. NO CREAM... USE olive oil instead. It is all put in an electric skillet on medium heat in the center of a table. (HINT: duck tape the cord to the table and to the ground so no one trips over it.) Cook until the anchovies dissapate and the flavor sets in...about 30 minutes. Do not burn. We use 4 cubes butter, 4 cups olive oil, 4 cans anchovies and about 4 whole cloves of garlic. Add more as you eat and cook. We all swarm around the skillet with our skewers and dip in filet mignon, shrimp, lobster, cabbage, mushrooms and good crusty Italian bread. Indulge with a glass of wine too! It is fun to cook, eat and socialize. No one would ever know that there were anchovies in it. It is really garlicy and your house "reaks" of garlic for several days afterwards too! Every new person that tries it is very apprehensive at first but the next year they invite themselves and couldn't imagine a Christmas without it. I would not recommend anybody to use the cream. but that is just my opinions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Whoo, boy!, we just finished our bagna-cauda. It was delicious!. My granny used to do this for grand occasions, where there were at least ten people round the table, and to me, this bagna-cauda means good memories. Unfortunaley, by the time I asked my granny for the recipe she was already ninety-nine and she had forgotten the recipe!!. This recipe is extremely similar, except that, I'm thinking that she might have put more anchovies and garlic in it, plus a little olive oil and pepper. And we always served as fondue it in a founde pot to keep it hot. All in all, this is a wonderful recipe, even my husband who doesn't like anchovies loved it. A note for those who don't know what to serve it with, we eat it with boiled potato chunks, italian bread, celery, gren bell peppers, cooked broccoli and cauliflower, raw carrots, cooked green beans and steamed onions and boiled cardoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAVILU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
OH MY GOD! This is great. I thougt it might make an okay reception, but OH MY GOD! You taste it and go back for more more more!!!!!!!!! My guests stood in line around and any where near this dip. Thanks Julie P. Love it. AND all 10 guests LOVED it, even my 10 year old. I used healthy heart magarine and it was still great. Seriously make this with cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I've made this using olive oil, no cream and about 1 cup of clarified butter. We do it as a fondue adding fresh chopped vegetables, onions, broccoli, mushrooms, cauliflower, carrots, ect. and letting them cook at the table. Then everyone fishes out what they want to eat. It's a little oily but if you use a piece of french bread to blot it it's very tasty, plus you can eat the bread after. Then we just turn the heat back up and cook our meat in it. You can add a little more olive oil if nessasary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I made this with half cream and half olive oil. I wasn't impressed. I probably wont use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States