Bagna Cauda Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
And I thought WE were the only ones who ate this! We have this every New Year's - handed down through many generations of my family. We do it just a little different. We use 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 real butter and saute' the anchovies and garlic over low heat until they fall apart. We then put it in a fondue pot and add the cream about 6 oz. at a time. We fondue steamed cabbage wedges and raw mushrooms and catch the drips with the crusty Italian bread. When the bagna cauda starts to thicken, add some more cream and let warm up before dipping some more. When I was younger, we tried this out on our boyfriends. If they didn't like it or wouldn't try it, they weren't keepers! Luckily, my husband and brother-in-law love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
OMG!!! Someone actually makes this recipe the same way (well almost) my dad did when I was a little girl. I'm now 56 years old. Most Bagna Calda recipes don't add the cream, but my dad always did. He actually added evaporated milk. This recipe is awesome - brings back some old memories !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I thought this was something only my dad made for my family on fondue night. When we do it, we use an electric skillet on med-low, start with two sticks of butter, some olive oil, approx. a whole garlic bulb, and the 2 cans of anchovies. Once we soak up most of the liquid, we add in another stick of butter if we want it. We also dip cabbage, veggies, meat, and bread in ours. I have never hear of/tried it with cream...bet it is good! I do not suggest mixing half cream and half olive oil. It's probably good either way, but not combined. Just don't burn the butter and cook it nice and slow until the anchovies dissolve...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flfishie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
didn't use cream, but olive oil. It was so good that we used it as a grilling sauce for shrimp. EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EndoMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I make this dish every holiday, but served this specific version for my latest New Year's Feast, and it ended up being the main attraction. Opened with the dip, and when my guests finished the meal, we all stayed at the table just dipping foccacia. I was asked for the recipe, and typically I do not tell people about the anchovies until after they have tasted it, but it did not sway my friends as they all were pleased to know what that special something was :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I made this with half cream and half olive oil. I wasn't impressed. I probably wont use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I've made this using olive oil, no cream and about 1 cup of clarified butter. We do it as a fondue adding fresh chopped vegetables, onions, broccoli, mushrooms, cauliflower, carrots, ect. and letting them cook at the table. Then everyone fishes out what they want to eat. It's a little oily but if you use a piece of french bread to blot it it's very tasty, plus you can eat the bread after. Then we just turn the heat back up and cook our meat in it. You can add a little more olive oil if nessasary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
OH MY GOD! This is great. I thougt it might make an okay reception, but OH MY GOD! You taste it and go back for more more more!!!!!!!!! My guests stood in line around and any where near this dip. Thanks Julie P. Love it. AND all 10 guests LOVED it, even my 10 year old. I used healthy heart magarine and it was still great. Seriously make this with cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Whoo, boy!, we just finished our bagna-cauda. It was delicious!. My granny used to do this for grand occasions, where there were at least ten people round the table, and to me, this bagna-cauda means good memories. Unfortunaley, by the time I asked my granny for the recipe she was already ninety-nine and she had forgotten the recipe!!. This recipe is extremely similar, except that, I'm thinking that she might have put more anchovies and garlic in it, plus a little olive oil and pepper. And we always served as fondue it in a founde pot to keep it hot. All in all, this is a wonderful recipe, even my husband who doesn't like anchovies loved it. A note for those who don't know what to serve it with, we eat it with boiled potato chunks, italian bread, celery, gren bell peppers, cooked broccoli and cauliflower, raw carrots, cooked green beans and steamed onions and boiled cardoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAVILU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
My family has made this every year for Christmas as a tradition for 40 years. It is a northern Italian recipe. BUT we made it like the previous poster. NO CREAM... USE olive oil instead. It is all put in an electric skillet on medium heat in the center of a table. (HINT: duck tape the cord to the table and to the ground so no one trips over it.) Cook until the anchovies dissapate and the flavor sets in...about 30 minutes. Do not burn. We use 4 cubes butter, 4 cups olive oil, 4 cans anchovies and about 4 whole cloves of garlic. Add more as you eat and cook. We all swarm around the skillet with our skewers and dip in filet mignon, shrimp, lobster, cabbage, mushrooms and good crusty Italian bread. Indulge with a glass of wine too! It is fun to cook, eat and socialize. No one would ever know that there were anchovies in it. It is really garlicy and your house "reaks" of garlic for several days afterwards too! Every new person that tries it is very apprehensive at first but the next year they invite themselves and couldn't imagine a Christmas without it. I would not recommend anybody to use the cream. but that is just my opinions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Bagna Cauda

Warm olive oil and butter dipping sauce with anchovy fillets and garlic.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Global Pantry Italy

Meet the main ingredients of the traditional Italian pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States