Bagels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
My boyfriend and I used to frequent a coffee shop in Denton, Tx called Kharma Cafe. When that place closed we mourned the loss of our all-time favourite bagel. We just tried this recipe. After the first bite we looked at each other and started shrieking with joy "Kharma bagel! Kharma bagel!" We topped ours with garlic flakes, onion salt, sesame, poppy, caraway, anise, and sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I followed the recipe the only thing I did different was add alittle baking soda to the water and sugar,I also let the bagels boil much longer then a minute.They came out ok some were still doughy even after they came out of the oven in some spots even though I let them bake for a long while,I do not know why!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deniece

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
AWESOME!!! WOW, even I can make these. They turned out great. I changed the recipe a little (cinnamon, blueberries). Imagine the possibilities. (cheese, onion, raisen)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I've never made bagels before so I wasn't sure what to expect. These came out exactly the way a bagel should taste - texture and all. I added a bit more salt to the recipe, put about a tsp of baking soda into the boiling water along with honey instead of sugar. I also baked the bagels on a stone. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I've made these bagels a few times now and they are great. I am from New York and these are the closest thing to real new york bagels I can get in Texas. This last time I made Onion bagels...I added one half a sweet onion onion powder to taste right into the dough and right after boiling them and right before baking them I sprinkled mined onion on top the bagels...you might want to put a piece of foil over the bagels so the onions on top dont burn but everything else is the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KIMBERLYANDKEITH
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I follow this recipe fairly closely- but I do boil longer, let proof a bit longer if it is chilly indoors, and I add honey instead of sugar. I add both baking soda and honey to the boiling water and it makes such a difference in color of finished bagels! Delicious, and we are all addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
These were ok. This was my first time making bagels so there may have been something wrong with my technique. The bagels were a bit dense. They didn't have the crispy on outside, chewy on inside texture but was more like dense bread. I used half WW and half white flour. I added poppy seeds and dry onion flakes to the dough and topped the bagels with poppy and sesame seeds. The recipe itself is easy to follow. I might try it again someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
these were FANTASTIC! I boiled them for 7 minutes to get the texture I like, but these are amazing! I plan on making more tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
My first time making bagels, and they came out perfectly! Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I have always been a fan of bagels but never thought I could actually make my own. This was my first attempt and they came out perfectly. I followed the ingredients of the recipe exactly along with the directions for Forming and Baking Bagels here on the All Recipes website. (Go to: http://allrecipes.com/HowTo/Forming-and-Baking-Bagels/detail.aspx) I am really impressed with the outcome. The bagels are crisp and toasty on the outside while chewy and yeasty on the inside. After boiling and draining I coated the tops in a mixture of poppy seeds, sesame seeds, sea salt, garlic powder, and fresh ground pepper. (My version of the “Everything Bagels” that I have always loved.) Try making these bagels and I am sure you will not be disappointed. I will definitely be making these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States