Bagels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Holy smokes these are good ! I just pulled my first batch out of the oven and they are perfect. I've found my bagel recipe. I used half whole wheat and topped with poppy seed and oats. I found I didn't need all the flour the recipe called for- I just kept kneading til I couldn't work any more in and then stopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Thank you so much! This was my first time working with yeast. They didn't turn out very pretty (I need practice!) but tasted wonderful. I have been living abroad for 7 years and the one thing I have always missed is bagels. Not anymore!!! This is a keeper and I can't wait to experiment with different toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
First time making bagel and it came out perfect! Of course I have to practice on shaping it like how the bakery does it but the taste is great. I did boil the bagel for about 3 minutes, flipping it several time just to make sure it double in size. I made the mistake of adding the yeast into the flour mix instead of dissolving it in water. Still came out perfect. Also, 0.25 ounce yeast is 1 1/2 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Recipe was solid. My first time making anything involving yeast and thanks to this fairly simple recipe, I don't have to buy bagels anymore. Eventually the ingredients should pay for themselves :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
tastes good, but I prefer healthy bagels with no oil, not baked on nonstick, and a recipe that doesn't take this much work. i prefer the bread machine bagel recipe, even when adapted to hand only, over this. using that recipe (hand or machine) it takes me about 20 minutes of work total to make. the rest is just watching tv or going out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
These turned out excellently by following the recipe exactly. Now I'm going to turn this into an onion bagel and cinnamon raisin bagel and cut about 4 mins off the bake time to reduce how brown they got in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Numina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made these with my boyfriend at his mothers house, and we didn't have any dry yeast or bread flour, and i thought everything was going to go wrong as i'd never made bread before. After much pleading from my boyfriend to continue, we went along with the recipe anyway. They were so delicious and beautiful. We crouched in front of the oven like children while they were baking, and they tasted fabulous, especially warm! I personally think the inside tasted more like a dinner role, but the outside was the perfect chewyness. Be sure to eat them as soon as you can because they don't save very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I'm sure it was me - but these never did rise or proof or do anything remotely close to what I have been able to make other bread recipes do. When I boiled them they looked like dumplings and I basically stopped from there. Not being familiar enough with the process I thought this recipe would help me get a decent bagel - and experience could build from that. But, being completely inexperienced, turns out this recipe is less than helpful. Maybe after I find something else more idiot friendly I can return to this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Mine did not look like supermarket bagels, but boy did they taste good. I think my problem may have been too much flour. I did kneed until it was elastic but when I went to roll the balls parts of the dough wouldn't stick to itself very well. Oh well, they may not be the prettiest but they are the tastiest. I made sesame seed, fennel seed, onion, celery seed and plain salt. My father was skeptical about the whole "I'm going to make my own bagels" but he is now devouring them all, so I'd say it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I've made these three times now, and will definitely be making them again. My husband eats a bagel for breakfast before work every day, and likes these better than store bought. I added a couple heaping tablespoons of dried onion to the flour for an onion variety too, with great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States