Bagels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Mary Grace
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
The only thing I will do deferential next time I bake this is take the temperature down a bit. Must be my oven but at 500 f my beagle bottoms were slightly burnt at 15 minutes and the recipe said around 20. Other then that our first try has turned out really good. Thanks to my husband for top rate kneading!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
OMG!!! I never ever made bagels in my life... This recipe was easy as can be!!! The bagels were DELICIOUS crunchy on the outside, soft and yummy on the inside... It was a little time consuming but oh so worth it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JD_RJ_Atl
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I never thought that making bagels was going to be that "simple". I followed the recipe except that I baked my bagels at 375-400F. My oven runs a little hotter than supposed to and I was afraid of burning the bagels. My family loved the bagels. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD_RJ_Atl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Great recipe! I like the ingredients/measurements in this recipe, but found the instructions on Bagels I to be a bit better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Photo by rhondastahl
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
best recipe for bagels yet...chewy, yet crispy on the bottom (but not too tough)...wonderful taste....these will absolutely make an appearance at temple soon but w. seasme or poppy seeds! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondastahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Great recipe. I only used 6 cups of flour, and mixed the sugar with the water before adding the yeast. This dough doesn't rise much, so don't mistake it for not rising at all. Bagels are dense! Rather than spin the dough into ropes, I made 12 balls and then tore a hole in the middle of them with my thumbs, that way they wouldn't come apart. I cooked them for 15 minutes...anymore and they would have burnt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
great bagel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Outstanding! I am originally from New York and am a bagel snob... I have tried a number of bagel recipes over the years and have never found one that was NY bagel-like... until now. The texture is spot on... crusty outside and chewy inside. I followed the recipe, however I used brown sugar instead of white sugar, and only ended up using 6 cups of flour... 4 cups white flour and 2 cups whole wheat, used my kitchenaid mixer and let it knead for 15 minutes. Followed the rising and proofing and boiling instructions then set my oven to 425 degrees, first because my oven runs hot and two because at 500 degrees my smoke alarm goes off... :) I placed a pan of hot water on the bottom shelf of the oven before preheating which created great steam for baking then baked for 10 minutes, turned them over and baked an additional 10 minutes. Turned out perfectly!!! I highly recommend this recipe for authentic bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy JF
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe is delicious!! I'm a bread baker normally, but the "boiling" always made me shy away from making bagels. I finally took the plunge today after stumbling across allrecipes' recommendation and step by step instructions and am I happy I did! This is good, homemade food. I put in 3 cups whole wheat and made up for the rest with unbleached white, kneaded the whole time in my kitchen mixer (love that thing)and used my 4 year old to make the balls. After boiling and dipping a few in sesame seeds I baked for the recommended time-toasting the bottoms of the first batch to a black (darn oven). So I cut the time by a minute and raised the rack to the top resulting in gorgeously yummy ww bagels!!! Love it! THANK YOU :) My 14 month old has already eaten a whole one-butter free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy JF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I loved this recipe as did my husband. I used poppy seeds, coarse garlic powder, dried onion flakes and cracked pepper for toppings. I found it easier though to roll the dough into balls and press it down with the palm of your hand then punch a hole in the middle and let it rotate around your finger to enlargen the hole....the rope making and trying to get the ends together was just too hard to do. Excellent flavor and texture. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuddls

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States