Bagels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Ann, you must be Jewish! I'm a rank-Yank from New Jersey who worked in a high-volume (350+dozen/morning) Jewish Bagel shop. Of the three or so bagel recipes I found, this recipe most closely matches the shop's. It is a fine home-sized adaptaion of the large-scale operation I worked in. I think the recipe is fine, it brought back a lot of memories. It's a good base from which to start using condiments. The only criticism is that the dough could probably use a little more salt (but a salt-topping could easliy fix that).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiwi Klockdoctor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wanaque, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
This was my first time making bagels, and this recipe made it easy. The bagels themselves are delicious, dense and chewy, making great sandwiches. My 3 year old nephew ate 2 of them by himself. I only rate 4 stars because this is only my first bagel recipe and something better might come along...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Ok. I probably wouldn't spend the time making these again. They just didn't have the same flavor/texture as store bought bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Of all the bagel recipes I've come across this is the best! Some different flavours I like are: pesto and pine nut; all grain (red river cereal); banana chocolate chip; cinnamon raison. I don't use any mixers other than my hands ... that way I know if the dough is right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
The recipe was very easy to follow and make, however my topping, which was a cinnamon sugar mixture, caused them to burn. Be sure to watch them carefully, as they seem to take less time than the recipe says. I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
These were easy to make although I didn't use a bread machine. I used my kitchen aid. While these were not Bagel Store quality, it was cool to make, and they did taste quite delicious. Just a note to you first time bagel makers like me, when they tell you to flatten the dough, make sure after you flatten it and make the hole, that you shape it into more of a bagel shape because you'll wind up with more of a flat bagel. I expected them to rise again into a bagel shape and they didn't. It didn't affect the taste, just the ability to slice them. Topped mine with sesame seeds, poppy seeds, minced garlic or onion powder. Quite delicious. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Enjoyed them. I added some baking soda to the boil too. Topped it for the 'everything' bagel except dried garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
These bagels turned out great!! I only used 6 cups of the flour and let it proof a bit longer (30 mins) until it had that nice yeasty smell and brushed the top with egg white (1 white and 1 tbsp water) gave it that nice glossy look. GREAT!!! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Not sure if I screwed something up, but the bagels were WAY too dry. Not good at all. However, stick the dough in a loaf pan and you've got some really, really good sandwich bread. I'll definately stick to this recipe for my bread, but for bagels, I'll try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Will not make again. The flavor was okay but nothing great by all means. The whole shaping thing did not work at all. I ended up with more like bagel sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatarat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragonah, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States