Bagels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Absolutely fabulous. I'll never buy bagels from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This was my first attempt at making bagels and they were amazing!! I substituted honey for sugar in the dough and boiled them with honey for 2 minutes in total and then baked them as instructed. They were perfect! Will try adding some whole grains and maybe some garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These were very good bagels. I made 3 different varieties out of 1 batch. Chocolate chip, cinnamon crunch, and plain. They were all very good the first day, but not quiet as yummy the second day. Even after toasting they were not quite as chewy and delicious. Will be making again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I did plain white bagels for my first try and while I did find it time consuming I also found it deliciouse. They turned out great. My whole family enjoyed them and next time I will try the whole wheat version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by squeakyduck
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
These turned out beautifully, aside from a couple that I didn't boil long enough (they caved in). I used 3/4 pkg. yeast instead of 1/2 (I meant to use a whole pkg., but accidentally dumped some on the floor, and went with it :-) ). Highly recommended recipe, though time and labor intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Thanks to Ann, my first bagel attempt was a success. I didn't even create the rounds correctly and they came out great! As this was the first time I have ever tried my hand at bagels, I am sure they will only get better. If there is any way, I am wondering at what point would I add cinnamon and raisins in for cinnamon raisin bagels...my boyfriend's fave! Thanks again for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
My Jewish husband loved these as did my VERY PICKY JEWISH FRIEND who is a bagel snob... I could tell she tasted a small bite of them just to see "how bad" they were... and ended up eating a whole big one saying they were "amazingly good"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burr Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This recipe was ok. I halved it since I've never had luck with bagels before. I made 6 - but the first batch I boiled were a flop. The other three worked but didn't have the bagel texture. I'm not sure what I did wrong - they didn't sink in the water either - so they were definitely not proofed right.... its all really a mystery for me - just learning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMPNorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
These are absolutely delicious! I've made this recipe twice, the first time exactly as the recipe stated and the second time with a few changes. I used 3 tablespoons sugar in the dough instead of 2. I also found with the first batch that the bagels stuck badly to the pan and tore when trying to turn them, so for the second batch, I dipped the bottoms in cornmeal before I placed them on the oiled baking sheet, then did not turn them. They turned out beautifully. These bagels are so much better than bakery bought bagels. They are dense, chewy and flavorful!! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I enjoyed these bagels quite a bit. I didn't use a mixer- just a wooden spoon and my hands. I found the dough to be quite dry and it was a pain to knead. Like others, I followed the directions for "Forming and Baking Bagels" from this site. Unfortunately, I am a novice at forming dough rounds: it showed. The tops of my bagels looked great, the bottom- not so much. Next time I will boil the bagels for longer than 4 minutes (2 per side), because I like a thicker crust on my bagel. Also, 15 minutes baking time is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States