Bagels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was my first time making bagels, so I followed the recipe almost precisely. Only minor change was that I used a heaping tablespoon of salt for the dough, instead of an even one, since at least one reviewer recommended slightly more salt. They turned out phenomenal, other than the fact that many of them flopped open into crescents instead of staying as circles. Didn't affect the flavor or texture, though, which was great. I might consider doing as one reviewer suggests and forming the dough into balls, punching a hole in the center, and stretching it a bit, instead of trying to connect the end of the "ropes." A small amount of finely minced garlic, mixed with sesame seeds, made a delicious topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
WOW!!! I have tried making Bagels a few times in the past, and they never really came out well. But this recipe was awesome!!! Only problem now is, my family wants me to make several different versions...I've created a monster i think.. LOL Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
What a tasty recipe-but like so many others, our bagels weren't that pretty,thus the downgrade to 4 stars. For some reason, the bagels all rose well, were formed into the ropes and then into rings and this is where things went wrong. After they were formed into rings, and left to proof, all the rings came undone. We used water to hold the dough into a ring, and we pinched the ends together to no avail. The next time we make these, I think we'll just roll into balls and stick our finger through the center for the hole in the middle of our bagels. Outside of this, the bagels tasted great, rose like they should, baked to a shiny perfection (though not quite shaped bagel-y). This is a keeper of a recipe and with a minor alteration to the handling of the dough, it will likely be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I couldn't keep the 5 year old out of the dough. Wonderfully easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Photobby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I thought this recipe was great, as far as making the dough. The dough came out perfectly the first time I made them, but my excitement quickly burst when I pulled them out of the oven. 500 degrees is way too hot. The second time I boiled the bagels for 2 minutes, and baked at 375, which worked out *much* better. Next time I will line my baking sheet with parchment paper or wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These bagels turned out beautifully the first time I made them. I tried to follow the recipe exactly, but I think I made a few mistakes by accident and they still looked and tasted great! I did have to knead the dough for about 15 minutes before it was elastic, I only used 6 cups of flour, and I guessed how long to boil the bagels, but they still tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is THE BEST bagel recipe. I make these so often that the recipe is attached to the side of my fridge. These bagels are delicious on their own but I think they are best when rolled in sesame and poppy seeds with a sprinkling of kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Nice! I have been wondering how bagels were made for years! I made mine with sunflower oil and sprouted spelt flour. I had to use about 1 T more water, but they turned out wonderfully! I made them plain, but will eat them with cream cheese blended with mixed berries... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MissExtremist
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
First time making bagels or any kind of bread for that matter and my dough didnt rise for some reason...However i didnt want to waste my dough i tried cooking it anyway and it still came out great!!! Im from NYC so i have a high standard taste in bagels & these tasted as good as the best NYC bagel shops when they were nice & warm! Ill admit they were a lil dense for my taste when i tried them later in the day but probably had to do with my dough mishaps but when they were fresh from the oven they were amazing. Hopefully next time i can figure out how to get dough to rise and can get this recipe perfected for me. O yeah, i think it's much better to poke & widen the holes rather then connect the ends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissExtremist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: North Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I never knew how easy bagels were to make at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States