Bagels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Ann, you must be Jewish! I'm a rank-Yank from New Jersey who worked in a high-volume (350+dozen/morning) Jewish Bagel shop. Of the three or so bagel recipes I found, this recipe most closely matches the shop's. It is a fine home-sized adaptaion of the large-scale operation I worked in. I think the recipe is fine, it brought back a lot of memories. It's a good base from which to start using condiments. The only criticism is that the dough could probably use a little more salt (but a salt-topping could easliy fix that).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiwi Klockdoctor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wanaque, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I have always been a fan of bagels but never thought I could actually make my own. This was my first attempt and they came out perfectly. I followed the ingredients of the recipe exactly along with the directions for Forming and Baking Bagels here on the All Recipes website. (Go to: http://allrecipes.com/HowTo/Forming-and-Baking-Bagels/detail.aspx) I am really impressed with the outcome. The bagels are crisp and toasty on the outside while chewy and yeasty on the inside. After boiling and draining I coated the tops in a mixture of poppy seeds, sesame seeds, sea salt, garlic powder, and fresh ground pepper. (My version of the “Everything Bagels” that I have always loved.) Try making these bagels and I am sure you will not be disappointed. I will definitely be making these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
Great Recipe! Easier than I thought. I split the flour 50/50 Whole Wheat/Unbleached and made a batch of great WW Bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2000
It was fun to make, but didnt taste nearly as good as homemade bagels should. Lacked the yeasty full flavor but was nice and crusty and chewy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Outstanding! I am originally from New York and am a bagel snob... I have tried a number of bagel recipes over the years and have never found one that was NY bagel-like... until now. The texture is spot on... crusty outside and chewy inside. I followed the recipe, however I used brown sugar instead of white sugar, and only ended up using 6 cups of flour... 4 cups white flour and 2 cups whole wheat, used my kitchenaid mixer and let it knead for 15 minutes. Followed the rising and proofing and boiling instructions then set my oven to 425 degrees, first because my oven runs hot and two because at 500 degrees my smoke alarm goes off... :) I placed a pan of hot water on the bottom shelf of the oven before preheating which created great steam for baking then baked for 10 minutes, turned them over and baked an additional 10 minutes. Turned out perfectly!!! I highly recommend this recipe for authentic bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2000
Wonderful!! Me and my family (especially the kids) absolutley loved these bagels. Toasty on the outside and chewy inside. Great recipe a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
I am willing to accept that I did something terribly wrong when I made these, although I cannot say what exactly. I think I'll use less salt next time to see what happens. They simply didn't rise or proof like I expected, even though my yeast turned out fine for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was my first time making bagels and they turned out great and looked just like store bagels. I did make a few changes. I used all whole wheat flour instead of bread flour, added a tiny bit more water, divided the dough into two sections so it was easier to manage, formed them by making a ball and then poking a hole in it with my fingers instead of doing it the way suggested, and cooked it for 15 minutes instead of twenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2000
I live in Brazil and one of the things I love most about going to the US is eating bagels (we don't have them here) so I was searching for a recipe and I found a great one! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
I had never thought to make bagels before, but I'm glad I did because they were delicios. Especially with a bit of kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States