Bagels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Instead of rolling out the dough to form a rope and then a ring, I highly reccomend this: Make a small ball, making a hole in the middle with your finger (or thumb). twirl the dough around your finger - kind of like when you twirl a keychain or something when you're bored - until the bagel hole is the right size (a bit bigger than what you want your finished bagel to look like, they poof and close the hole a bit). I found that I would have an occasional bagel that wouldn't keep its shape making them the 'ropes and ring' way, and twirling is much quicker and more fun. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Great recipe. This was my first attempt at making bagels and they turned out great! Crunchy on the outside and chewy in the middle and they taste awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin1107

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: House Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This is a wonderful bagle recipe!! My absolute, all time favorite bagle(s) is/are sundried tomato and basil bagles. While this may sound disgusting - which is the usual reaction that I have encountered when describing them - they are actually the BOMB!! They are also virtually impossible to find commercially. Because I love to attempt new and possibly difficult recipes, I decided to explore bagles. Of the several recipes that I have found from Allrecipes and other sources, I think this one is the best. The flavor is great, they are nice and dense but also very soft inside. I achieved tomato and basil bagles by simply adding finely chopped dried tomatoes and basil along with the flour. During the kneading the leathery texture of the tomatoes is worked out some, and by the time they are out of the oven I nearly have to hover over them with a kitchen implement to keep my family out of them! All in all, I have had great success with this recipe on several occasions and would recommend this recipe to any aspiring bagle-baker. One last note, do not be daunted by the idea of boiling and proofing the bagles; these steps are not really out of the way of most bread making processes, are more than worth the effort and couple extra minutes, and I find them quite fun and unique to this bread!! Give it a try, experiment with different add-ins and toppings, and continue to revel in your kitchen's magic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Omg!!!Delicious!! These were perfect crusty on the outside chewey on the inside!!!great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Awesome. If I can make it right, it MUST be a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veriia
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
First time making bagels and they turned out great. I had a hard time shaping them evenly but I think that comes with practice. When they cooked in the oven, they rounded nicely and many imperfections cooked out. I boiled them 1-2 minutes per side because I found another recipe that called for a longer cooking time. It worked for me but 1 minute may be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Other than being way too salty, these were very good. Instructions were followed exactly. Next time, I'll cut the salt in half and add in some onion. (I love onion bagels!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Great tasting bagel recipe. I put 1 Tbs of molasses in the water to boil, but otherwise I use the recipe as is. Had to work a bit to get the bagels to look nice, but now I've got it down. I tried both the "rope" and the "ball" methods and I have better luck making a ball and turning it into a bagel. We love to make sesame seed bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Delicious! I made these on a whim because I wanted to make something different. I like baking bread so I decided to try bagels! I followed the recipe exactly with some guidance of others reviews. I made one batch a cinnamon raisin bagels which turned out awesome! My husband ate two within 10 minutes of coming out of the oven and this was at 8pm! Will definitely make again and try different seasonings/ flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Grace
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
The only thing I will do deferential next time I bake this is take the temperature down a bit. Must be my oven but at 500 f my beagle bottoms were slightly burnt at 15 minutes and the recipe said around 20. Other then that our first try has turned out really good. Thanks to my husband for top rate kneading!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States