Bagels II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Not as crispy on the outside as I had hoped. But good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
With a little extra salt and a little extra yeast this recipe is perfect. I am part of a cooking class and I made this recipe for a you pick the recipe day. Eeryone raved that they were the best bagels they had ever had! This is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This was my first time trying bagels and they turned out wonderful! I used more yeast (1 tablespoon)than the recipe called for and I also used whole wheat flour and a 9 grain mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Wow thank you for this great recipe. I followed a few people's suggestions and added more salt and it definitely helped the taste. I added blueberries in the dough and found that I had to work in at least another cup or so of flour to get the dough to the right consistency. A quick spray of olive oil before baking helps with the gloss without another step and more washing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I followed all of the specific details, however, I used a combination of one half whole wheat flour, oat flour and hazlenut flour. The bagels came out perfect, though a little dry. I'll try again with white bread flour for about half the flour content and add some nuts and raisins. Trying to come up with a health alternative to the store bought bagels. This recipe worked well as a base for experimentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This was my first time making bagels and I found them very simple and the taste was great. I live in Italy and can't buy them but my 5-year daughter wanted bagels so I thought I'd give them a shot. I used the bread hook on my mixer (first time ever) and the dough came together great. I think I should have proofed a bit longer as mine turned out a bit flat but otherwise no problems. As other reviewers mentioned I made balls and poked holes in them to form the bagels. I kept 6 out and froze the other 6. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
These were really good! My husband loved them. I had a hard time making them perfectly round, but that's okay, they were still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
this was my first time ever making bagels, and they turned out great anyone who's did or they didnt like them, just didn't do it right, or they dont know what they are taking about.thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was my first time making bagels and they turned out great and looked just like store bagels. I did make a few changes. I used all whole wheat flour instead of bread flour, added a tiny bit more water, divided the dough into two sections so it was easier to manage, formed them by making a ball and then poking a hole in it with my fingers instead of doing it the way suggested, and cooked it for 15 minutes instead of twenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This receipe was easy to follow. My bagels were nice and chewy on the inside and my son said they were definitely better than the ones from the store. I did make a mistake by adding all 7 cups of flour in the beginning, and had awfully dry dough--naturally. But I just added some more water and was able to get the dough back to where it needed to be and everything turned out fine. Also, I didn't use the rope method to form the bagels, I just divided the dough into 12 balls and then stuck my finger through each to make a center hole and shaped the bagel from there. I can't wait to experiment with different toppings and additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States