Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I grew up getting fresh bagels from a real bagel shop most weekends. For the last four years we have lived on a small island in the Pacific NW and there is no place to get a REAL bagel. This was my first attemp to make my own bagels and they came out great. At the request of my family I made them the next day as well. On the second day I increased the temp to 400 degrees at 20 min. I also brush all the bagels with a light water/egg mixture to help the toppings stay on and to help crisp up the outside a bit. These came out perfectly. By the way, I mixed by hand and baked on a pizza stone. I made two batches the second day. One batch had 3 cups reg. flour 1.5 cups wheat...they tasted great too. Thank you! I will never again long for a REAL bagel! The only possible problem is that my wife says this needs to be a new Saturday morning tradition. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Friday Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I have made bagels before, but this recipe really did not turn out at all for me. I live in NY and are searching for the best bagel recipe for salt bagels that I can find (actually looking for Manhattan Bagel's recipe!!!). All went well until after the boiling. They appeared fine, but were very unappetizing looking (not your normal boiled bagel lumpy) and I baked them for over an hour....the inside was still like runny egg white. They simply did not bake on the inside. I don't know what I did wrong - I followed the recipe exactly, however, it certainly appears that people had a great experience with this recipe! I really don't know if I will try this one again. I'm too a-feared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
For a first time try these turned out great! I followed the recipe as directed(I did not make them in a bread machine)....except I wanted cinnamon raisin bagels. So I improvised the recipe. I added (about)3 tablespoons to the dry ingredients and I added 1 cup of PLUMPED raisins also to they dry ingredients. I think next time I may add 1/4-1/2 cup more raisins. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockway, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
They were gone an hour after i had them baked. My husband and kids were eating them as they came out of the oven! I didnt shape them as bagles though. I rolled them into sticks, and added cracked pepper to the flour before I mixed it so we could have them for dinner. The only other thing I changed in the recipe is how I boiled them. I boiled them in a large pot. I am way too lazy to stand there turning bagles. When they float, you know they are done! much easier!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy.marchand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
what a mess. they came out soggy. Maybe I let them rise too long and made too many air pockets. Hmmm . . . they seem to have trouble when it came to boiling the. though the tasted alright. Will not repeat this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intellectualditz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and the bagels were too chewy and undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Amazing! I replaced 2 cups of the flour with whole wheat and they were soft and flavorful. I dusted some with caraway and a few with garlic powder for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I'm torn about this recipe. It started out as a disaster and turned out to be really great bagels. I used a mixer, and lost track of how much flour I ended up using (-more than the recipe - trying to salvage the big gooey mess). They turned out to be quite a bit of work, but the results were quite delicious (almost a bagel with a croissant character). (And yes - I agree with some of the others to cut back on the salt (particularly in the water).)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was my first try at bagel making, and even after being spoiled for years on NYC bagels, these are delicious! I let the dough rise for about 1 hours until it almost doubled in size. Had to bake a few minutes longer to get the right consistency outside. I've made this recipe twice this week already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Very good- excellent taste. For some reason my dough wouldn't rise, so after two hours I just made the bagels anyway. Very dense, but tastey! The malfunction was likely my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States