Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I thought these we delicious! However, as bagels are, they are extremely time consuming. I don't have a bread machine and did it all by hand. I also added some raison for a little extra flavor. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
After making these there was no way back to storebought one - my family wouldn't eat them. They are fairly easy to make, a little work intensive but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Escazu, San Jose , Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L.Cumminger
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Very good, used 2 and a half cups whole wheat and 2 white flour and they tasted great. Made 9 good sized bagels that held their shapes well. Try sprinkling with onion powder, mmmmm...so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.Cumminger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I liked this a lot, it did remind me of New York bagels. I tried the work saving method of the bread machine, but was rewarded with more of a clean up, a yeast dough will stick to a non stick surface. I made an old favorite but hard to find salt bagel using course salt and they came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
These bagels are easy to make and also very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I've been baking since I was 13 and never tried to make bagels. This was a great recipe to start with! Shaping takes a little practice to get that perfect look. I turned up the oven to 400 the second time. The only real problem I've had is not being able to keep up with the requests for more from friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Plain Walt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Maybe it's because of the flour here in Spain... but my bagels tasted great but were soooooooooooo hard you could kill someone by throwing one at them!! Will keep trying and changing the flour... Wonderful taste though... none left! (even though hard as bullets!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
So, so, so good! This was my first attempt at making bagels, a venture I had been looking forward to for months. Though I spent all afternoon doing these(stupidly, I used a small pan that could only boil one bagel at a time) they were well worth the time and will be treasured as gold. To make them everything style, I sprinkled with dried, minced onion; poppy seeds; sesame seeds; and kosher salt. Eating them right out of the oven, they didn't even need to be toasted. Just smother with a little cream cheese and enjoy. In a nut shell, good recipe, easy to do, time consuming, but worth it if you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I grew up getting fresh bagels from a real bagel shop most weekends. For the last four years we have lived on a small island in the Pacific NW and there is no place to get a REAL bagel. This was my first attemp to make my own bagels and they came out great. At the request of my family I made them the next day as well. On the second day I increased the temp to 400 degrees at 20 min. I also brush all the bagels with a light water/egg mixture to help the toppings stay on and to help crisp up the outside a bit. These came out perfectly. By the way, I mixed by hand and baked on a pizza stone. I made two batches the second day. One batch had 3 cups reg. flour 1.5 cups wheat...they tasted great too. Thank you! I will never again long for a REAL bagel! The only possible problem is that my wife says this needs to be a new Saturday morning tradition. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Friday Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I have made bagels before, but this recipe really did not turn out at all for me. I live in NY and are searching for the best bagel recipe for salt bagels that I can find (actually looking for Manhattan Bagel's recipe!!!). All went well until after the boiling. They appeared fine, but were very unappetizing looking (not your normal boiled bagel lumpy) and I baked them for over an hour....the inside was still like runny egg white. They simply did not bake on the inside. I don't know what I did wrong - I followed the recipe exactly, however, it certainly appears that people had a great experience with this recipe! I really don't know if I will try this one again. I'm too a-feared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States