Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These turned out really good! First time I've ever made bread or anything that had to rise, so I was terrified. However, they turned out very well. They took a long time to make but I suppose that is to be expected. I added egg white and cheese to the tops and they turned out lovely. Not quite round/smooth, but very tasty, especially with cream cheese. Very dense. If I have a couple hours to kill, I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ampassante

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Camden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Yum! Bagels are so easy to make! Thanks for the clear, concise directions. Made it 50% whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Wow! Very yummy. I didnt use a bread machine. I kneaded by hand but, it only took about 5 min to bring the dough to a smooth elastic quality. I floured my work surface when I was dividing and shaping the bagels which made it very difficult to form smooth balls. I may just oil my hands a bit next time. I will make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeCross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This recipe is simple and makes great bagels! The only thing I did different was allowing the bagels to rise for thirty minutes after I shaped them. Once risen though, the dough is really sticky so I had to use a spatula to move them from the tray to the boiling water. I definitely plan on making a lot more bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
These bagels taste awesome...I followed the recipe exactly, let my bread machine do the hard work...The only suggestion I have is once you have shaped the bagels, before boiling, let them rise for a further hour so they are not so heavy. That was the only comment that the kids made and I have made them hundreds of times now since finding this recipe.....Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntyoffour

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kendal, Cumbria, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Amazing, especially when you add cinnamon and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I just can't believe how well these bagels turned out. They were so easy using the bread machine to do all the work and then just taking out the dough and making my bagels. It was a quickie boil in the pan and then added sesame seeds to some and cinamon sugar to the rest. They were just incredible. Can't wait to try variations with basic recipe. Just loved them. Totally pleased with the ease of making them using bread machine-- couldn't be easier and the results were incredible. THANKS for sharing these Sally!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
The result is tasty, with a bit of a tough crust on the outside and a soft, chewy interior. The dough was tricky to handle (flouring my hands helped a bit, especially when shaping the bagels).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I have been baking breads and sweets for over 30 years but I have just decided to make bagels. I tried another recipe a few days ago and it was a disaster. This recipe was great. I followed directions here, except I did forget to put the salt in the water. I also made 8 larger bagels instead of 12. The bagels had a great taste and looked beautiful. My husband, how doesn't eat breads very often, loved them and wants me to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
As three married women, husbandless for an evening...on a dark cool night...we decided to try this recipe! Boy are we glad we did! Our bagels were enrobed in poppy seeds, outfitted in cinnamon and left plain. What a delight these bagels were. AND WE KNOW BAGELS! Sincerely, soon to be chubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States