Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I've made these 2 or 3 times now, they are really good. I roll out the dough & form circles instead of punching out the middle. My kids love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great flavor! To get bigger bagels I made 8 instead of 12 and got the perfect size!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
These are great. It's interesting to make different flavors and use different kinds of flours. I have mixed in whole wheat, oat flour, oat bran, flax meal, soy flour. When you add whole grains just be sure to add extra water as needed until proper consistancy is achieved. Whole grains soak up quite a bit of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Good plain bagels. They need a little longer in my oven, so I'll try to remember that next time. The salt and sugar bath was interesting to me; I've always used baking soda, but this worked too. I just boiled 3 minutes on each side, then dipped in egg and then toppings. These turn out chewy and good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Excellent - easier way is layer water, salt, sugar, butter then flour and then yeast (didn't have a package so used 2 tsp yeast) in bread machine. Select dough setting and then make shape and place into water simmer and then bake - these turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Loved them! My husband only likes one brand of cinnamon/raisen bagels so I wasn't too hopeful since this was the first bagel recipe I've tried. He loved them! and I made some with onions and chia seeds in them for me and they were great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Phenomenal, and easy! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Really, really chewey and nice crust. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks! New York, New York in Michigan!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
These turned out really good! First time I've ever made bread or anything that had to rise, so I was terrified. However, they turned out very well. They took a long time to make but I suppose that is to be expected. I added egg white and cheese to the tops and they turned out lovely. Not quite round/smooth, but very tasty, especially with cream cheese. Very dense. If I have a couple hours to kill, I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ampassante

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Camden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Yum! Bagels are so easy to make! Thanks for the clear, concise directions. Made it 50% whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States