Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I suggest using high gluten flour/bread flour in place of the all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
oh my goodness! I almost burnt my mouth eating one straight out of the oven just now and it was completely worth it. These are AWESOME! I used 1/2 C spelt flour, 1 C whole wheat bread flour, and 3 C bread flour. Hand rolled 18 bagels rather than doing the hole-in-the-ball technique. Used 1 t salt in the boiling water instead of two. Did need more flour while rolling the bagels, even though it formed a perfect ball while kneading in the bread machine. Not a problem, though! Gotta go and eat more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These are fantastic! I've been looking for a great recipe for bagels for a long time, I will be looking no further! The key is the salt and sugar in the water at the boiling process. I also made some garlic and herb varieties too, thanks for a wonderful recipe :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Ferrer

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Nice & chewy with a great flavor. They were easy to make and tasted better than store-bought bagels. This recipe would have made a large dozen and we prefer mini-bagels, so I cut the dough into 18-20 pieces and made most smaller. I cooked the smaller ones in water 2 minutes on each side with the same bake time as the larger and all turned out perfectly! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Awesome! Totally tastes like a real bagel. We recently moved to Hungary and they don't sell bagels where we live so I was sooo excited to find this recipe! Not hard at all, just takes a little time. 2-3 of the bagels I made were still a little doughy and I had to bake them about 15 mins. longer than the recipe but I'm think maybe my water wasn't hot enough when I cooked them. I will make sure it's simmering a little more next time and see if that cuts back on the cooking time. I plan on making double batches and freezing them so we always have some on hand! Very yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Great recipe and easy to follow! Our bagels turned out good but were, frankly, ugly looking. However, I believe that is because we used all purpose flour and not bread flour as some others have suggest. Despite their "beaten by an ugly stick" appearance they were delicious!! They were gone within two days! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Not bad for my first attempt at bagels, tho' they didn't turn out quite as pretty as I would have liked. Hopefully that, like anything else, will improve with practice! I used butter rather than margarine and prepared the dough in my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
My teenage daughters made these today, following the recipe as closely as they could, and they came out great! So good! They used the bread machine to make the dough, and baked for 30 minutes total which seemed just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivorygrace7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frewsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
YUM. These were awesome. I followed the directions exactly...except for not flipping the bagels in the water for a third time on the first batch. I noticed on the second batch that the bagels were much smoother on the top if I did the final flip, and therefore much prettier. Either way, ALL of them tasted delicious even without cream cheese and my family couldn't leave them alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divinity68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is my first time making bagels. They turned out pretty good! I'm excited to make onion bagels. Tips anyone???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States