Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Awesome! Totally tastes like a real bagel. We recently moved to Hungary and they don't sell bagels where we live so I was sooo excited to find this recipe! Not hard at all, just takes a little time. 2-3 of the bagels I made were still a little doughy and I had to bake them about 15 mins. longer than the recipe but I'm think maybe my water wasn't hot enough when I cooked them. I will make sure it's simmering a little more next time and see if that cuts back on the cooking time. I plan on making double batches and freezing them so we always have some on hand! Very yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Great recipe and easy to follow! Our bagels turned out good but were, frankly, ugly looking. However, I believe that is because we used all purpose flour and not bread flour as some others have suggest. Despite their "beaten by an ugly stick" appearance they were delicious!! They were gone within two days! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Not bad for my first attempt at bagels, tho' they didn't turn out quite as pretty as I would have liked. Hopefully that, like anything else, will improve with practice! I used butter rather than margarine and prepared the dough in my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
My teenage daughters made these today, following the recipe as closely as they could, and they came out great! So good! They used the bread machine to make the dough, and baked for 30 minutes total which seemed just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivorygrace7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frewsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
YUM. These were awesome. I followed the directions exactly...except for not flipping the bagels in the water for a third time on the first batch. I noticed on the second batch that the bagels were much smoother on the top if I did the final flip, and therefore much prettier. Either way, ALL of them tasted delicious even without cream cheese and my family couldn't leave them alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divinity68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is my first time making bagels. They turned out pretty good! I'm excited to make onion bagels. Tips anyone???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Yum! Glad I made these. Next time I make them I will use whole grains for added nutrition. I did not have a problem forming the "bagel" shape. I took a ball of dough, poked a hole in it, and then put it on the counter and shaped a larger bagel form without picking it back up. Don't try to hold it while you make the shape, it doesn't turn out as pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
After making another recipe and them not rising at all, I thought I would make 6 bigger ones. But they got huge! so actually they were too big. I added cinnamon and raisins. I am going to make these again tomorrow using a bit more of both and more bagels and possibly boil them for a little longer as they were quite bread like...but on the whole great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Taste was very good, in fact my adult son loved them. I am giving only 3 stars, as they did not cook well with given technique and time in recipe. There were portions/pockets of dough that were sticky and undone, some being along the OUTSIDE of the bagel which I found odd. I made half following the recipe exactly, those I didn't care for. I did other 1/2 following s shorter boil time as posted by another reviewer, 2 minutes each side. I also think it is important to allow the bagels to drain and dry well post boil before baking. I will make again, but with these corrections. Great with poppy seeds, sesame seeds, garlic powder, salt, cracked pepper, grated Parmesan cheese and finely minced onion all sprinkled on top. (Like an "Everything" bagel!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I've made these 2 or 3 times now, they are really good. I roll out the dough & form circles instead of punching out the middle. My kids love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States