Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Too sweet. I think the base recipe would be fine for sweet bagels but not for savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Great recipe! I did have to add a tiny bit of water and let them raise 30min to get a little bigger. WOW, they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
The bagels came out betiful and tasty. I had to decrese the baking time by a couple of minutes, though, because they brown quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
We have made these a couple times now, and they are pretty good. The dough is very thick and once cooked, these bagels are solid and hearty, but the taste is good and they are really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arroyo Grande, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I'd give a four and a half if I could. We added garlic and onion to ours, yum. We really enjoyed these, but they were a little too dense and not as soft as we would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
The minor differences: I only used 1 tbsp sugar to bloom the yeast, I used cooking oil instead of margarine, and my oven takes longer to bake them. Otherwise, I have followed the recipe exactly several times, and these always turn out yummy. Protip: make sure you are putting the bagels somewhere warm when you take them out of the boiling water. I had two bagels deflate because they were in a draft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Wonderful instructions on making them! I used these instructions, but the ingredients/measurements from Bagels II and it worked out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I suggest using high gluten flour/bread flour in place of the all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
oh my goodness! I almost burnt my mouth eating one straight out of the oven just now and it was completely worth it. These are AWESOME! I used 1/2 C spelt flour, 1 C whole wheat bread flour, and 3 C bread flour. Hand rolled 18 bagels rather than doing the hole-in-the-ball technique. Used 1 t salt in the boiling water instead of two. Did need more flour while rolling the bagels, even though it formed a perfect ball while kneading in the bread machine. Not a problem, though! Gotta go and eat more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These are fantastic! I've been looking for a great recipe for bagels for a long time, I will be looking no further! The key is the salt and sugar in the water at the boiling process. I also made some garlic and herb varieties too, thanks for a wonderful recipe :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobbiecookie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States