Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by CARATAMB
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
this is the first time i made bagels and i think they turned out pretty good. they tasted great. they looked like bagels, but not perfect circles (look at the photo on this site). i think that will take some practice. i followed the step by step photo tutorial on this site "Forming and Baking Bagels".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Sorry...I just wasn't impressed with these. They tasted alright, just not really like a bagel should taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I think it was an excellent recipe. It was so easy to follow and the outcome was outstanding. One of the best bagels I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I was very happy with the outcome of these bagels. They have a great chewy outside. I would definetly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Wow I really made my own homemade bagels! These turned out really nice.I'll be making these again they where well worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Excellent Recipe! Don't need bread machine. Mix as usual just heat the water and butter before adding. Use only 4 cups of flour in mix and add only necessary amount of remaining 1/2 of cup as kneading dough. Wait until the tops of bagels are slightly browned which may take 5 to 10 min longer than recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I doubted I really could make a "real" bagel from a recipe but I DID! The recipe was great. My family thought they were good,too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This recipe worked out well for me. I substituted 1 1/2 cups ground oats for 1 1/2 cups of the flour to add more nutrition with no effect on taste or texture. As suggested in a review for another bagel recipe, I used molasses in the boiling water instead of sugar, but since I haven't tried it with sugar I don't know if there was a difference. The pans need to be well greased, and even so the bagels stick; next time I will use parchment paper or a silpat. They are chewy, but unfortunately do not have the yeasty/sour taste you look for in a bagel. I made half of them cheese bagels (use very sharp cheese for this), and half cinnamon raisin. They are delicate while boiling, so turn them over with a spoon or fork rather than tongs to avoid ruining the shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This recipe was awesome. I had never made bagels before, and they turned out sooo good! I left some of them plain and put cinnimon, sugar, and brown sugar on the rest before I baked them! Sooo good! but before you try to form them read the "Step by Step: forming and baking bagels." it helped a lot and i didnt have any trouble at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
mmm...these bagels are good. I recommend brushing the egg white on top before baking, it gives them a nice shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States