Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Tons of fun to make with kids, and they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
In Arizona you can't get a real New York Bagel. I made these and my man,( a New Yorker) said,"Finally a New York Bagel!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I had never made bagels before attempting this recipe. They turned out great! Next time I would add a little more water to the pot as some of the final bagels in began to stick to the bottom. Using a wooden spoon to mix is just as quick and effective, if you'd like to have less clean-up. I will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Oh my GOSH!!! These were delicious. I love to make breads and had never tried bagels before so I gave this one a try. They turned out great. A couple of changes though. I only need 4 1/4 cups of flour, and to make it healthier I substituted 1/2 cup of WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR for an equal emount of all-purpose. Next time I think I'll substitute more. And I also used brown sugar for the bagels. And I also extended the baking time because 25 minutes was not entirely long enough; they were still too moist in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
I have made this recipe twice,and my girls just love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This recipe was awesome. I had never made bagels before, and they turned out sooo good! I left some of them plain and put cinnimon, sugar, and brown sugar on the rest before I baked them! Sooo good! but before you try to form them read the "Step by Step: forming and baking bagels." it helped a lot and i didnt have any trouble at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
This recipe worked out well for me. I substituted 1 1/2 cups ground oats for 1 1/2 cups of the flour to add more nutrition with no effect on taste or texture. As suggested in a review for another bagel recipe, I used molasses in the boiling water instead of sugar, but since I haven't tried it with sugar I don't know if there was a difference. The pans need to be well greased, and even so the bagels stick; next time I will use parchment paper or a silpat. They are chewy, but unfortunately do not have the yeasty/sour taste you look for in a bagel. I made half of them cheese bagels (use very sharp cheese for this), and half cinnamon raisin. They are delicate while boiling, so turn them over with a spoon or fork rather than tongs to avoid ruining the shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I doubted I really could make a "real" bagel from a recipe but I DID! The recipe was great. My family thought they were good,too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Excellent Recipe! Don't need bread machine. Mix as usual just heat the water and butter before adding. Use only 4 cups of flour in mix and add only necessary amount of remaining 1/2 of cup as kneading dough. Wait until the tops of bagels are slightly browned which may take 5 to 10 min longer than recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I was very happy with the outcome of these bagels. They have a great chewy outside. I would definetly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States