Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2001
In Arizona you can't get a real New York Bagel. I made these and my man,( a New Yorker) said,"Finally a New York Bagel!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Oh my GOSH!!! These were delicious. I love to make breads and had never tried bagels before so I gave this one a try. They turned out great. A couple of changes though. I only need 4 1/4 cups of flour, and to make it healthier I substituted 1/2 cup of WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR for an equal emount of all-purpose. Next time I think I'll substitute more. And I also used brown sugar for the bagels. And I also extended the baking time because 25 minutes was not entirely long enough; they were still too moist in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
as a 16 year old with free time during summer, i love cooking and these bagels are wonderful. they don't take too much time to make, aside from waiting for the dough to rise, but forming the bagels into a nice shape is tricky (i haven't been able to make them look like decent ones yet) but they taste delicious, wonderfully chewy and yet not the least bit rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
Ifound that the bagles were a little salty, but I think that if you cut the salt in half that went into the water it would solve that problem, The steps were very easy to fallow, but bagles take work. My son loved them but said they tasted diferent than the Bakery. I added Chocochips to mine and they were great but a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CARATAMB
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
this is the first time i made bagels and i think they turned out pretty good. they tasted great. they looked like bagels, but not perfect circles (look at the photo on this site). i think that will take some practice. i followed the step by step photo tutorial on this site "Forming and Baking Bagels".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I`ve been very pleased with the taste, but the look wasn`t very impressive. Maybe I did something wrong, because they weren`t very smooth on the top. Or is it because I made them with 3 cups WW Flour and 1.5 cups white flour? I have no idea! But anyway, the taste was delicious. And that`s all that matters, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Tons of fun to make with kids, and they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
I have a bagel maker which makes the boiling part much easier. I hadn't thought of boiling them in a skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2000
The consistens is not like that of other bagels more like buns in a round shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLOSILKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
These bagels taste awesome...I followed the recipe exactly, let my bread machine do the hard work...The only suggestion I have is once you have shaped the bagels, before boiling, let them rise for a further hour so they are not so heavy. That was the only comment that the kids made and I have made them hundreds of times now since finding this recipe.....Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntyoffour

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kendal, Cumbria, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States