Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
For a first time try these turned out great! I followed the recipe as directed(I did not make them in a bread machine)....except I wanted cinnamon raisin bagels. So I improvised the recipe. I added (about)3 tablespoons to the dry ingredients and I added 1 cup of PLUMPED raisins also to they dry ingredients. I think next time I may add 1/4-1/2 cup more raisins. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockway, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
They were gone an hour after i had them baked. My husband and kids were eating them as they came out of the oven! I didnt shape them as bagles though. I rolled them into sticks, and added cracked pepper to the flour before I mixed it so we could have them for dinner. The only other thing I changed in the recipe is how I boiled them. I boiled them in a large pot. I am way too lazy to stand there turning bagles. When they float, you know they are done! much easier!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy.marchand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
what a mess. they came out soggy. Maybe I let them rise too long and made too many air pockets. Hmmm . . . they seem to have trouble when it came to boiling the. though the tasted alright. Will not repeat this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intellectualditz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and the bagels were too chewy and undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Amazing! I replaced 2 cups of the flour with whole wheat and they were soft and flavorful. I dusted some with caraway and a few with garlic powder for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I'm torn about this recipe. It started out as a disaster and turned out to be really great bagels. I used a mixer, and lost track of how much flour I ended up using (-more than the recipe - trying to salvage the big gooey mess). They turned out to be quite a bit of work, but the results were quite delicious (almost a bagel with a croissant character). (And yes - I agree with some of the others to cut back on the salt (particularly in the water).)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was my first try at bagel making, and even after being spoiled for years on NYC bagels, these are delicious! I let the dough rise for about 1 hours until it almost doubled in size. Had to bake a few minutes longer to get the right consistency outside. I've made this recipe twice this week already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Very good- excellent taste. For some reason my dough wouldn't rise, so after two hours I just made the bagels anyway. Very dense, but tastey! The malfunction was likely my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
My husband is after me all the time to make these bagels. They have such a fresh yummy taste that by far out does the store bought ones. . .even the ones fresh from the bakery section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
my bagels turned out really ugly although, they tasted ok. i wish the recipe stated how long to let the dough rise because i don't think i let it rise long enough and they were really dense. my husband and son both gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States