Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
For a first time try these turned out great! I followed the recipe as directed(I did not make them in a bread machine)....except I wanted cinnamon raisin bagels. So I improvised the recipe. I added (about)3 tablespoons to the dry ingredients and I added 1 cup of PLUMPED raisins also to they dry ingredients. I think next time I may add 1/4-1/2 cup more raisins. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockway, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
They were gone an hour after i had them baked. My husband and kids were eating them as they came out of the oven! I didnt shape them as bagles though. I rolled them into sticks, and added cracked pepper to the flour before I mixed it so we could have them for dinner. The only other thing I changed in the recipe is how I boiled them. I boiled them in a large pot. I am way too lazy to stand there turning bagles. When they float, you know they are done! much easier!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy.marchand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
what a mess. they came out soggy. Maybe I let them rise too long and made too many air pockets. Hmmm . . . they seem to have trouble when it came to boiling the. though the tasted alright. Will not repeat this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intellectualditz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and the bagels were too chewy and undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Amazing! I replaced 2 cups of the flour with whole wheat and they were soft and flavorful. I dusted some with caraway and a few with garlic powder for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I'm torn about this recipe. It started out as a disaster and turned out to be really great bagels. I used a mixer, and lost track of how much flour I ended up using (-more than the recipe - trying to salvage the big gooey mess). They turned out to be quite a bit of work, but the results were quite delicious (almost a bagel with a croissant character). (And yes - I agree with some of the others to cut back on the salt (particularly in the water).)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was my first try at bagel making, and even after being spoiled for years on NYC bagels, these are delicious! I let the dough rise for about 1 hours until it almost doubled in size. Had to bake a few minutes longer to get the right consistency outside. I've made this recipe twice this week already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Very good- excellent taste. For some reason my dough wouldn't rise, so after two hours I just made the bagels anyway. Very dense, but tastey! The malfunction was likely my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
My husband is after me all the time to make these bagels. They have such a fresh yummy taste that by far out does the store bought ones. . .even the ones fresh from the bakery section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
my bagels turned out really ugly although, they tasted ok. i wish the recipe stated how long to let the dough rise because i don't think i let it rise long enough and they were really dense. my husband and son both gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States