Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This was great and so easy to follow. Two suggestions. 1, you probably will not need all the flour 3 1/2 cups should be enough. Also, next time I think I will only make six bagels, these were too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
These really are wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancingdonna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
amazing!!! i'm eating one right now, it's hot and i just put butter on it. oh so good! very easy to make, i used the bread machine version, didn't change a thing. will repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I tried this recipe yesterday and as it is here, it turned out okay. They didn't look the greatest, but the taste was great. My family all loved them. The full dozen were gone by last night. Today, I decided to try again and this time I wanted to make a few changes. I used this as a base recipe, and I did the following things differently: - I used instant yeast instead of regular; - I wanted to make them cinnamon raisin, so I used cinnamon, raisins and molasses; - Instead of boiling them in a skillet in 1" of water, I boiled them in a pot, fully submersed. They floated to the top and I continued to boil them for another two minutes; - I allowed them to air dry on a cooling rack, placed over a tea towel before baking. Now I don't know if it's just because of the changes I made or not, but I baked them for 40 minutes, and they have turned out amazingly well! This recipe will be the one I use from now on as a base for all the flavours of bagels we want to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
WOW- these turned out great! I am really bad at making bread of any kind and these actually turned out! I made the dough on Friday and boiled and backed them on Saturday. I topped them with all kinds of stuff. (cinnamon sugar, Italian seasoning, french onion soup mix) I followed the boil directions listed in the "forming and baking bagels" directions on here. I topped the bagels before i baked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Very easy even without a bread maker. This is a very versatile recipe, because I made a lot of changes and even made a mistake or two, and my batch still turned out great! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Very good basic recipe to work off of. I have made them plain, added cinnamon and plumped raisins to the dough, dipped in "everything" spices, used dried apples. the possibilities are endless. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Totally easy and way good! NOW if I can just figure out how to make them brown correctly in the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Conratulations for Sally! It is a real New York Bagel. It fine, especially in cinnamon taste with raisin. Fantastic. Special thank you. Zoltan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zoltan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I made these yesterday. they were really yummy. Took them to work for co-workers, added cream cheese, smoked salmon, chopped onions and capers. Voila All gone. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States