Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by M.Kreischer
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
First timer here!!! It was delicious!!!! I didn't change much. Instead of buying store bought flour (which is devoid of all nutrition and over processed) I used my Komo Grain Miller (purchased from Pleasanthill Grain if I remember correctly) and milled my organic hard winter wheat into flour right then and there. Used organic sun flower oil instead of the recommended. Cheated and dropped everything in my bread maker on the dough setting. Once it was done, to smooth it out, I broke it up as directed and literally rolled it in my cupped hands until my arms burned for each one. (I only made 3 as it was my first attempt) Then I took my finger and punched a whole through, then rotated it through my palm with my index finger and thumb lightly pinching as I rotated to form a larger and more solid hole in the center. I let it rest while I brought my water to a simmer and dropped them in. They puffed up pretty well. Then followed the rest of the directions. I cooked mine for about 28 minutes and they came out better than I ever expected! Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Great bagel recipe! Usually either make plain or cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quentin Swindells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was my first bagel baking attempt and I love this recipe. I doubled it, and they turned out fantastic! I substituted half of the flour for whole wheat, and will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Used whole wheat for 1/2 the flour and then covered with sesame seeds and a lite sprinkle of salt before baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CYNDIE4
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
AWESOME! The first time I made these my husband said ‘it smells like a bagel shop’. We ate the whole dozen. They’re irresistible & light. Not as big as bagel store bagels-you can make less than a dozen. I made plain, sesame, poppy, garlic, onion & everything. They sorta deflate as they go in the simmering water. The next time I made them they didn’t come out well. Was it the metal bowl, metal tongs & spatula or Kosher salt (that would be funny). There were many things that weren’t the same cause I made them at my MIL’s house. It meant I used her water, which is hysterical, since she lives on Long Island! I no longer buy the ‘it’s the water’ idea that brainwashed me. As far as I’m concerned, there is no excuse! Thank you for this recipe! Please understand: Hubby & I lived our first 30yrs of life on LI, NY. Those familiar know it’s ingrained in your brain that there are foods you just “can’t get” (to NYers liking) outside the NY/NJ area: bagels, pizza (Italian), & Chinese. I’m not saying I agree just what we’re told: ‘it’s the water’ nowhere else gets the same results. We had a blueberry bagel in SD that anyone would’ve called a donut. While living in MA we got bread with our Chinese food, but had to buy white rice. We were mystified why we got apple sauce w/eggrolls until we realized it was their duck sauce. Then people from Brooklyn appeared & all was right in our Chinese Food world. Now we live in rural Upstate NY. We can get bagels & they’re ok but we have to go a distance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Roscoe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Turned out much better than expected! Soft centered, crunchy exterior. I've never had a fresh from the oven bagel, I'll never buy stale bagels again! The only thing I did differently was use 1/2 cup honey and and 1/2 cup molasses in my water because that's what I had on hand. I can't wait until my husband and kids get home to try these!! Thanks for the excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by avick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
These were amazing! My family ate all of them in one evening! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This recipe worked great! My husband loved them. We had bought some homemade ones from a mother raising money for a cause. They were ok, and I was happy to help out, but these were a whole lot better. Thanks for the recipe I will be making this one again, with cinnamon and raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April JoAnn Salsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This is a really good recipe to use and they taste amazing! However, I would boil the bagels for at least another minute. I also shape the bagels with a cup and then stick a clean finger in the middle of it and spread the hole out to make the perfect bagel shape!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I made whole wheat bagels (2.5 cups of bread flour, 2 cups WW), they were excellent! I think the boil time needs to be a few minutes longer, a few of mine collapsed after i took them out of the water. I'll be trying cinnamon raisin tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States