Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
So, so, so good! This was my first attempt at making bagels, a venture I had been looking forward to for months. Though I spent all afternoon doing these(stupidly, I used a small pan that could only boil one bagel at a time) they were well worth the time and will be treasured as gold. To make them everything style, I sprinkled with dried, minced onion; poppy seeds; sesame seeds; and kosher salt. Eating them right out of the oven, they didn't even need to be toasted. Just smother with a little cream cheese and enjoy. In a nut shell, good recipe, easy to do, time consuming, but worth it if you have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I grew up getting fresh bagels from a real bagel shop most weekends. For the last four years we have lived on a small island in the Pacific NW and there is no place to get a REAL bagel. This was my first attemp to make my own bagels and they came out great. At the request of my family I made them the next day as well. On the second day I increased the temp to 400 degrees at 20 min. I also brush all the bagels with a light water/egg mixture to help the toppings stay on and to help crisp up the outside a bit. These came out perfectly. By the way, I mixed by hand and baked on a pizza stone. I made two batches the second day. One batch had 3 cups reg. flour 1.5 cups wheat...they tasted great too. Thank you! I will never again long for a REAL bagel! The only possible problem is that my wife says this needs to be a new Saturday morning tradition. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Friday Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I have made bagels before, but this recipe really did not turn out at all for me. I live in NY and are searching for the best bagel recipe for salt bagels that I can find (actually looking for Manhattan Bagel's recipe!!!). All went well until after the boiling. They appeared fine, but were very unappetizing looking (not your normal boiled bagel lumpy) and I baked them for over an hour....the inside was still like runny egg white. They simply did not bake on the inside. I don't know what I did wrong - I followed the recipe exactly, however, it certainly appears that people had a great experience with this recipe! I really don't know if I will try this one again. I'm too a-feared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
For a first time try these turned out great! I followed the recipe as directed(I did not make them in a bread machine)....except I wanted cinnamon raisin bagels. So I improvised the recipe. I added (about)3 tablespoons to the dry ingredients and I added 1 cup of PLUMPED raisins also to they dry ingredients. I think next time I may add 1/4-1/2 cup more raisins. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockway, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
They were gone an hour after i had them baked. My husband and kids were eating them as they came out of the oven! I didnt shape them as bagles though. I rolled them into sticks, and added cracked pepper to the flour before I mixed it so we could have them for dinner. The only other thing I changed in the recipe is how I boiled them. I boiled them in a large pot. I am way too lazy to stand there turning bagles. When they float, you know they are done! much easier!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy.marchand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
what a mess. they came out soggy. Maybe I let them rise too long and made too many air pockets. Hmmm . . . they seem to have trouble when it came to boiling the. though the tasted alright. Will not repeat this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intellectualditz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and the bagels were too chewy and undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Amazing! I replaced 2 cups of the flour with whole wheat and they were soft and flavorful. I dusted some with caraway and a few with garlic powder for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I'm torn about this recipe. It started out as a disaster and turned out to be really great bagels. I used a mixer, and lost track of how much flour I ended up using (-more than the recipe - trying to salvage the big gooey mess). They turned out to be quite a bit of work, but the results were quite delicious (almost a bagel with a croissant character). (And yes - I agree with some of the others to cut back on the salt (particularly in the water).)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was my first try at bagel making, and even after being spoiled for years on NYC bagels, these are delicious! I let the dough rise for about 1 hours until it almost doubled in size. Had to bake a few minutes longer to get the right consistency outside. I've made this recipe twice this week already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States