Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Carolbz
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I used the bread machine for the dough, which took 90 minutes. Everyone in my house loves cheese bagels, so I added about a cup of mixed grated cheddar and parmesan. You could totally customize this recipe to make cinnamon-raisin, or any other sweet or savory bagel. The recipe's easy to follow and wasn't super-messy (thank you!) I baked the bagels on parchment paper, which helps with clean-up. Ours turned out a variety of shapes and sizes (which is what I wanted;snack vs sandwich vs toasted) and they were all really, really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Wonderful bagel recipe. No changes needed. Worked great with my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Too sweet. I think the base recipe would be fine for sweet bagels but not for savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Great recipe! I did have to add a tiny bit of water and let them raise 30min to get a little bigger. WOW, they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
The bagels came out betiful and tasty. I had to decrese the baking time by a couple of minutes, though, because they brown quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
We have made these a couple times now, and they are pretty good. The dough is very thick and once cooked, these bagels are solid and hearty, but the taste is good and they are really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arroyo Grande, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I'd give a four and a half if I could. We added garlic and onion to ours, yum. We really enjoyed these, but they were a little too dense and not as soft as we would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
The minor differences: I only used 1 tbsp sugar to bloom the yeast, I used cooking oil instead of margarine, and my oven takes longer to bake them. Otherwise, I have followed the recipe exactly several times, and these always turn out yummy. Protip: make sure you are putting the bagels somewhere warm when you take them out of the boiling water. I had two bagels deflate because they were in a draft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Wonderful instructions on making them! I used these instructions, but the ingredients/measurements from Bagels II and it worked out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I suggest using high gluten flour/bread flour in place of the all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States