Bagels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Great bagel recipe! Usually either make plain or cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quentin Swindells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was my first bagel baking attempt and I love this recipe. I doubled it, and they turned out fantastic! I substituted half of the flour for whole wheat, and will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Used whole wheat for 1/2 the flour and then covered with sesame seeds and a lite sprinkle of salt before baking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CYNDIE4
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
AWESOME! The first time I made these my husband said ‘it smells like a bagel shop’. We ate the whole dozen. They’re irresistible & light. Not as big as bagel store bagels-you can make less than a dozen. I made plain, sesame, poppy, garlic, onion & everything. They sorta deflate as they go in the simmering water. The next time I made them they didn’t come out well. Was it the metal bowl, metal tongs & spatula or Kosher salt (that would be funny). There were many things that weren’t the same cause I made them at my MIL’s house. It meant I used her water, which is hysterical, since she lives on Long Island! I no longer buy the ‘it’s the water’ idea that brainwashed me. As far as I’m concerned, there is no excuse! Thank you for this recipe! Please understand: Hubby & I lived our first 30yrs of life on LI, NY. Those familiar know it’s ingrained in your brain that there are foods you just “can’t get” (to NYers liking) outside the NY/NJ area: bagels, pizza (Italian), & Chinese. I’m not saying I agree just what we’re told: ‘it’s the water’ nowhere else gets the same results. We had a blueberry bagel in SD that anyone would’ve called a donut. While living in MA we got bread with our Chinese food, but had to buy white rice. We were mystified why we got apple sauce w/eggrolls until we realized it was their duck sauce. Then people from Brooklyn appeared & all was right in our Chinese Food world. Now we live in rural Upstate NY. We can get bagels & they’re ok but we have to go a distance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Roscoe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Turned out much better than expected! Soft centered, crunchy exterior. I've never had a fresh from the oven bagel, I'll never buy stale bagels again! The only thing I did differently was use 1/2 cup honey and and 1/2 cup molasses in my water because that's what I had on hand. I can't wait until my husband and kids get home to try these!! Thanks for the excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by avick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
These were amazing! My family ate all of them in one evening! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This recipe worked great! My husband loved them. We had bought some homemade ones from a mother raising money for a cause. They were ok, and I was happy to help out, but these were a whole lot better. Thanks for the recipe I will be making this one again, with cinnamon and raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April JoAnn Salsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This is a really good recipe to use and they taste amazing! However, I would boil the bagels for at least another minute. I also shape the bagels with a cup and then stick a clean finger in the middle of it and spread the hole out to make the perfect bagel shape!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I made whole wheat bagels (2.5 cups of bread flour, 2 cups WW), they were excellent! I think the boil time needs to be a few minutes longer, a few of mine collapsed after i took them out of the water. I'll be trying cinnamon raisin tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Carolbz
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I used the bread machine for the dough, which took 90 minutes. Everyone in my house loves cheese bagels, so I added about a cup of mixed grated cheddar and parmesan. You could totally customize this recipe to make cinnamon-raisin, or any other sweet or savory bagel. The recipe's easy to follow and wasn't super-messy (thank you!) I baked the bagels on parchment paper, which helps with clean-up. Ours turned out a variety of shapes and sizes (which is what I wanted;snack vs sandwich vs toasted) and they were all really, really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Jiffy Cinnamon Rolls

Watch how to make super quick cinnamon rolls.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States