Bagel Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Our family and friends LOVE this recipe. I have made it for work food days and a Superbowl party. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I find the onion to completely overpower the dip. And the longer it sits the more overpowering the onion gets. So, my recommendations are to only use 1/2 an onion (minced, instead of chopped), twice the amount of dried beef, and omitting the MSG. This is such a yummy dip for chunks of bagels!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlee'sMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is a great recipe! My family loves it! I do not put the MSG into the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This recipe is ABSOLULTELY delicious! I made it for a crowd of friends for an afternoon at a wine festival, and they are STILL talking about it months later. Such a great combination of flavors that go so well on pieces of plain bagel....and, so easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is an awesome recipe. Easy to make, and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This dip is so good. I took to a party with with cut up bagels and everyone could not get enough. I also did not use the msg and I didn't have an onion so I had to substitue onion powder. The only thing I added was a pinch of salt. I'm looking foward to another occasion when I can make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I was skeptical about this recipe - but I took some dip and a bagel for my lunch today - and I Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This recipe is very similar to a family recipe that we use on holidays. We don't use the refrigerated packages of beef because the flavor seems a bit washed out. Instead, we use the Hormel Dried Beef (in jars on the canned meat aisle near the tuna fish). We have also never used the MSG and it turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
VERY GOOD and we didn't even refrigerate for the hour! I scaled the recipe back to 10 servings. Since the scale was unable to break down some items I basically eye balled the ingredients. I didn't use the MSG or the dillweed (didn't have it). I used crushed dried italian seasonings in its place. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This recipe is delicious! I have made it numerous times, always following the recipe, and everyone asks me for the recipe. I personally think it's a must to add the MSG, as it enhances all the flavors! Very tasty!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States