Bagel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Hubby liked this, not too soft, not too crispy on the crust. When I made the bread I added shredded parmesan & 1/4 cup of flour I subbed milled flaxseed. I did the dough setting then turned the bread in to bread loaf pan. Cooked it 350 for 35 minutes. Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
It IS good bread, however, it tastes nothing like a bagel. I was very disapointed. Had this just been a recipe for white bread, I would have rated higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Though I didn't think it tasted like a bagel, the bread had a nice texture and a chewy crust. It was a bit bland, but was very good with the Orange Honey Butter from this site. I generally only use my bread machine for making dough, but this was a nice alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This was truely a disappointment. It didnt taste at all like a bagel, it really didnt taste period. The texture is way too light for a bagel too. I made it three times to make sure I didnt mess up somewhere but it came out plain and fluffy every time. Not even a good plain white bread, sorry, I dont like to give bad reviews but this one was not good at all....will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Yummy bread. I mixed in the bread machine and baked in the oven. I baked at 375*F for about 35 minutes using a 8"x4" loaf pan. The taste was not exactly like a bagel, but close enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
replace regular salt with onion salt and add 1 Tbsp re concentrated minced onions on second knead with 1/2 to 1 tsp dried basil flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This bread is awesome. It turns out nice and crusty, enough to use it as a bread bowl for dips. I do add 1/3 cup sugar however to the recipe, makes it a tad bit sweeter. Try it like that, you're sure to have a winner in your home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I made this bread for my Mom when she was in rehab for a broken hip. I have a passion for cooking and she was my food critic. GREAT BREAD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Not too 'bagel-y' but it was good loaf of white bread. Actually, bagels aren't too hard to make. I like the 'Bread Machine Bagels' recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This bread has become a family favorite! One thing I have changed though...I substitute half/half for the milk and it comes out even MORE delicious! Valerie Wilmington, DE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States