Bagel and Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Alright, so I gave this a two, BUT it can easily be made into a five star recipe. The problem is the dip is lacking seasoning. I agree with the reviewer who said it has a very cheez whiz flavor to it. It's a good base, but you need to add more into it than just these two ingredients, otherwise the processed cheese flavor takes over. I used a hand mixer to blend the ingredients, and then I added a lot of onion powder and garlic powder (do it to taste.) I then added a large handful of the Mexican blend cheese. Would have preferred a sharp cheddar, but didn't have any on hand. Another reviewer mentioned the dip being too stiff...if that happens (which was not the case with mine) just add a little bit of milk to it. Not a big deal. With these adjustments, I give it a five star rating. I served my dip on beer bread, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Kid approved! Used the reduced fat cream cheese and added chives. I only used half of the processed cheese as was called or in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliekk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I make a variation of this for work food days...8oz cream cheese, 1 jar Kraft Old English cheese (usually near the velveeta in the stores) and 1 tsp garlic powder, or to taste. It is always one of the first things to disappear, and people ask for the recipe everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Totally impressive. This was so good on crackers, bread sticks, and even with veggies. But it was outstanding as a bread dip. I used Kraft Old English sharp cheese spread in the little glass jar and plain cream cheese and then tossed in a palmful of freeze dried chives. About 2 T worth. Thanks what a fabulous dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Used whipped cream cheese, added garlic powder, and dried chives. Not bad. But very easy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
i thought it tasted cheap, kinda like cheeze weez.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
It's fast and easy, not to mention tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I took this dip so a Christmas Party and it was a huge hit! I ran out and had to make more. I followed the suggestion of using the shredded sharp cheddar instead of the processed stuff. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
It was very tasteful, I loved it. I had it for a snack after school when i got him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I was disappointed with this dip. I was looking for a cheese dip to use with soft pretzels, but this stayed thick like cream cheese consistency. I was expecting a creamier dip. I melted sharp cheddar with the cream cheese, but it was too stiff for dipping the pretzels. The flavor was ok- maybe it'll be better with onion bagels or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States