Bagel and Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I served this when we had a houseful of guests... they LOVED it! I did add an extra egg or two, as some have suggested and it worked well. I will say though, that any leftovers heated up the next day, are not as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This is a wonderful make-ahead breakfast casserole that is super easy as well as delicious. My 14-year-old son loved it, as did my husband and I. I did make one substitution - I substituted chopped ham for the bacon. This is a very eye-appealing dish that I would not hesitate to make for guests or to take to the office for brunch. I would warn, though, to be very, very careful when trying to slice the bagels so thin. If you have a bagel slicer, be sure to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
I made this recipe for a brunch with my Moms group and it was a big hit (even the kids liked it!) The only things I did differently were I ended up using a smaller pan (which meant thicker layers, so I had to cook it a little longer 45min.), and I covered the casserole during the first 15/20 minutes. Then I uncovered it for the remaining baking time. The top layer didn't get burned or wasn't tough and everything cooked through nicely. Lastly, I used turkey bacon instead of regular bacon. This recipe is a keeper and I will definitely be making this dish again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I made this for my daughter's confirmation brunch and it was a big hit. The bacon and onion taste with the bagels was very good. I will definitely keep this in my recipe box. I as a little different from the regular breakfast casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This was a great breakfast to serve overnight guests! Not only did it taste wonderful but it eliminated all the rushing around in the morning, since I put it together the night before. I cubed the bagels instead of slicing them, and I used whatever kind of bagel I had in the freezer. I think I ended up using two or three different kinds. This is definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
I made this for a baby shower brunch! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This is great. I used lean back bacon, 2 extra eggs, 2 c. cheese and more parsley. I made 2 pans of this for a big family brunch and it was very popular. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
After reading other reviews I made some minor changes i.e. cubing the bagels & making sure there was enough liquid to cover them all. I also used fresh mushrooms, ham instead of bacon, used cheddar on top instead of parm, etc. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
Really good. I made this a while back and forgot to review it immediately but I do remember it turned out. It is very similar to many other breakfast casseroles I have made, but I remember thinking the bagel substitution was clever and really tasty. We halved the recipe and switched out some cheeses, including fresh Parm which we had. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
I made this casserole this morning to take to my in-laws and there wasnt one piece left. I love breakfast sandwiches, but need the convenience of a casserole - this fits the bill perfectly. I debated whether to slice or cube the bagels, like some other reviewers and I decided to slice them. It came out wonderfully. The only changes I made were adding more bacon ( I used a whole pound) and more cheese between the layers and sprinkled on top. It took a few more minutes to bake,also. I did not make it and let it soak overnight. Made it in a matter of minutes, stuck it right in the oven and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States