Bagel and Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I made this casserole for company and it was a huge success. It was a nice change from the usual egg dishes and is super easy. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
I've prepared this recipe twice... I used egg substitute instead of real eggs and didn't think it affected the outcome much. I've also tried using turkey-bacon and liked it better that way. Overall, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This is good tasting, but took a little longer to prepare the night before than I had thought. Also fitting the dish in the fridge overnight can be a problem for some. One problem I noted was the toughness of the top layer of bagel slices. It's a nice idea, but they came out very hard and tough, requiring a knife to eat. You need to either leave off the top bagel layer or make a larger amount of the egg filling so the top bagels are completely covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
This is a great idea. But the top layer of bagels came out way too tough. I cut that and also did not fry the bacon with the onion. Something about onions and eggs! UGH! But overall the recipe was great. I needed to alter it a bit. But it is now a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This is a wonderful make-ahead breakfast casserole that is super easy as well as delicious. My 14-year-old son loved it, as did my husband and I. I did make one substitution - I substituted chopped ham for the bacon. This is a very eye-appealing dish that I would not hesitate to make for guests or to take to the office for brunch. I would warn, though, to be very, very careful when trying to slice the bagels so thin. If you have a bagel slicer, be sure to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
This is good, basic egg casserole recipe. Definitely add an extra egg or two to make sure the top layer of bagels is covered with the egg mixture. Variations on this recipe are endless, leave it simple for the kids, or go crazy for the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
A different way to serve bacon, eggs and bagels. Was popular at my fathers day brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Served at brunch this weekend- was easy and a HUGE hit....would def. make again. Good to mkae on a Sundya and heat up for a quick breakfast during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I served this when we had a houseful of guests... they LOVED it! I did add an extra egg or two, as some have suggested and it worked well. I will say though, that any leftovers heated up the next day, are not as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
I made this recipe for a brunch with my Moms group and it was a big hit (even the kids liked it!) The only things I did differently were I ended up using a smaller pan (which meant thicker layers, so I had to cook it a little longer 45min.), and I covered the casserole during the first 15/20 minutes. Then I uncovered it for the remaining baking time. The top layer didn't get burned or wasn't tough and everything cooked through nicely. Lastly, I used turkey bacon instead of regular bacon. This recipe is a keeper and I will definitely be making this dish again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States