Bagel and Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was fantastic. My favorite egg bake dish so far as there was a good balance as far as quanities between the amount of eggs and bread. I will always make ths one from now one. I didn't use onions as my husband doesn't like them. Although I was ready to sneak them in until my husband saw the onion on the counter. Used a pound of bacon, which didn't seem like too much. The bacon gave it a great flavor and I didn't miss the onions at all. Baked for 20 min. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I made this dish for our Christmas Eve breakfast 2007 and everyone said how wonderful it was. So when I decided to have a brunch birthday party for my daughter I thought I might try something new. Well that didn't happen. As soon as my dad heard I wasn't going to make this dish, he was very upset and requested that I make the "Bagel dish" instead because he liked it so much. So I came back to Allrecipes.com and found the recipe again to make for the brunch. Within 2 bites of everyone eating, "Oh my gosh Melissa, this is so good. I want the recipe!" I think next time I might try using a little more bacon though. Other than that, this is an awesome dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I added more eggs and diced the bagels per other reviewers. Used ham instead of bacon, also added mushrooms, garlic and spinach. The dish was okay, though the eggs could have used more seasoning. The bagels "disappeared" but gave a nice fluffy texture to the eggs. I'll probably make it again, but season the eggs more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Storm23

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This was just ok for us. The idea is good, but I think it gets lost somewhere in the baking. I was thinking it would be like a sandwich in a casserole...it wasn't. I doubt if I make this again. I think the bagels kind of ruined this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I too cut up the bagels into bite size pieces, and I added more eggs to cover. Everyone loved it! Great recipe, but kind of expensive for all ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was great & so easy, instead of plain bagels I used everything bagels, and added spinach & mushroom...so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I baked this on a girl's weekend and it was a big hit and easy to make ahead. I fried up red onions (instead of white) along with zucchini, mushrooms and some garlic and just added it to the bacon and put it over top of the chopped bagels. From there I covered with the egg and left it in the fridge for 8 or 9 hours. **It appeared to be cooked after about 35 minutes (firm to touch), but when I cut it open, it was still kind of runny. It needed another 10 min. So don't assume it is done without checking first. Everyone absolutely loved it and I will make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuilfordGourmet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haliburton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
After reading a few reviews about the recipe I wasn't quite sure about it! Made it for Mothers Day Brunch using others suggestions, 4 Everything Bagels from Panera cut into bite size pieces, 1 lb bacon, 14 eggs, 2 1/4 Cups Milk, added 2 tsp dry mustard and omitted the peppers. I also left it covered with foil the entire time in the oven to avoid the hard top that others encountered. This turned out great! It looked beautiful and really was a change of pace from a regular breakfast strata. The kids loved the bagel idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was ok, but I definatly need more meat and cheese, it was too much egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was so good! Everyone came back for seconds!! It is even good leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States