Bagel and Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Really great!! I made this for my husband's office. Everyone loved it!! I doubled the recipe and made everything low fat. I used Egg Beaters instead of the eggs. I was a little nervous if it would cook the same and it turned out perfect. I used low fat cheese and lean turkey sausage. It's much easier to tear up the bagels instead of slicing them. I couldn't believe how it puffs up when cooking. This is my new favorite dish. I even used English muffins because I didn't have bagels and it was still good. If you want to try something everyone will like make this bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I used turkey bacon. This was a nice flavor too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I thought this recipe was just okay. I cut down the amount of the sausage and used both bacon and sausage together. I thought that the bagels would make a little bit nicer texture but the bottom layer of bagels just kinda turned to mush with the eggs. It was a very fluffy bagel/egg layer but you couldn't tell that there were bagels on the bottom. I followed the advise of previous reviewers and covered the dish for about half the baking time then uncovered for the last half. I didnt want the top layer of bagels to get chewy, but they turned out a little mushy too. I would say do not cover the dish at all and let the bagels get a bit chewy. The dish all in all tasted pretty good but I have definitely had better breakfast casseroles. My Dad did go nuts for it though so I am fairly pleased =).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryKayMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
A-one! I followed this the way it was written (well, I did put in extra bacon and eggs) and it was very good! Still good the next day as well!Not bland in the least. I might want to try variations another time but this was very successful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
me and my husband didn't like this... we did split the recipe in half to 6 servings and it just wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Good make-ahead breakfast. I used Everything bagels cut into large chunks, a full pound of bacon, and green onions. I was a little concerned that I had too much bacon but I think now that 1/2 lb. would not have provided enough flavor. Same with the bagels. I think it's definitely better to go with something more than just plain. When served, the dish still needed a little salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight and we really enjoyed it. I did make a few additions which were as follows. First, I cut the bagels (I used onion bagels because that is what I had on hand) into pieces for easier serving and eating. I chopped up some green pepper and fried that up with the bacon and onion. I also cooked up some breakfast sausages and chopped and added them to the mix. I used more cheddar than called for and also added some shredded pepperjack as well. I will definately be making this again! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I'm always looking for easy breakfast entrees, and this make-ahead recipe certainly fits the bill. I thought it sounded a bit bland, though, so I supplement the onions with 1/4 cup each of diced green and red peppers, plus 2 diced Roma tomatoes. (The tomatoes are my favorite part.) I actually use a little less bacon (1/2 of a nitrite-free 12 oz. pkg) but add 1/2 tsp salt and several dashes of tabasco. I reserve some of the cheese for the top but don't increase the total amount. I haven't had any trouble with the bagels incorporating into the egg mixture, maybe because I use a square 10" baking dish, not a 9x13. Usually they disintegrate so much that you can't even detect them. Wouldn't call this fabulous but it's quite good, and it's a nice switch from other standard egg entrees. I will definitely make it from time to time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is a simple - yet very yummy recipe. My family has this on x-mas morning - they love it! We also sometimes have it at dinner time -the kids think it's fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States