Bagel and Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
The first time I made it I followed the recipe exact and found it to be a little bland but good enough to try again. After reading the reviews I changed a few things and now think this is one of the best egg dishes ever! I read a few reviews say they cut the bagels in smaller pieces and so I cut bite size chunks and it was moister and much easier to eat. Also there is not a lot of flavor and I didn't want to use everything bagels so I used peppered bacon (I also used 1lb rather than 1/2) and it made it GREAT. The flavor was perfect! I skipped the parmesan because the flavors did not work well together imo and put it all in a little bit smaller dish and adjusted the cooking time and it turned out much more moist. This is a fabulous recipe and perfect for a mom of 3 all under 5 since it is meant to be prepared the night before. I think the peppered bacon made a huge and very tasty difference-I highly recommend you try it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Very tasty, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
It wasn't bad. I don't know what I was expecting because it tastes just like a breakfast casserole that I make with english muffins so I was a tad disappointed, but that has nothing to do with this recipe. I gave it 3 stars, because it was good, but didn't have the "wow" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheStubbieChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Bland and mushy. Didn't like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Artesia, New Mexico, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I have made this several times and it always turns out great, the bagels are never mushy. I use 14 eggs, 2 1/4 cups of milk, and 1 whole lb of bacon. I add 1 cup shredded cheese, salt, pepper, 1 tsp mustard powder, and 1 tsp onion powder(because I don't feel like chopping and cooking an onion) to the egg mix. Then I tear the bagels up into pieces and let them sit in the egg mix for about 1/2 hour while I'm cooking the bacon with the "Bacon for a family or crowd" recipe. I use scissors to cut the bacon into pieces and mix it into the egg mix. I spray a 9x13 with cooking oil spray and pour the whole bowl in. I top it with some parm cheese and another cup of shredded cheddar. I top it with aluminum foil and cook for 30 minutes, then I take the foil off and cook it another 20 minutes. It turns out puffy and beautiful. This is my favorite breakfast casserole, and I've tried MANY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This recipe was a HUGE hit when I had to feed some hungry men before they went skiing. I added some diced ham and mushrooms into the mixture. Instead of slicing the bagels thin I sliced them in half and then in 4ths. It looks very pretty and tasted great. For reheating it's best to use a toaster oven. This will definitely be a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was very EASY AND YUMMY ! Made it for my daughter's baby shower and many guests asked me for the recipe. I DID have to bake it LONGER than stated, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJT96

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherburne, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Excellent, easy to prepare. Even my most picky child loved it. I used lowfat milk and everything bagels for a switch. I prepared it on christmas eve before going to bed and then popped it in the oven while we opened gifts. It was prefectly ready when we were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Really great!! I made this for my husband's office. Everyone loved it!! I doubled the recipe and made everything low fat. I used Egg Beaters instead of the eggs. I was a little nervous if it would cook the same and it turned out perfect. I used low fat cheese and lean turkey sausage. It's much easier to tear up the bagels instead of slicing them. I couldn't believe how it puffs up when cooking. This is my new favorite dish. I even used English muffins because I didn't have bagels and it was still good. If you want to try something everyone will like make this bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I used turkey bacon. This was a nice flavor too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States