Bagel and Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
We did vary the recipe a little. We added way more bacon and ham, but i didnt let it sit over night. It was a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I made an 8x8 version to feed 4. I sauted the onions seperate because they just burned with the bacon and were all greasy. I used plain bagels and they worked great. This dish was picture perfect and the tops of the bagels were golden at exactly 30 mins. 8x8 version: 6 slices of bacon, diced; 1/4 cup chopped onion; 2 plain bagels (sliced into 8 pieces, 4 placed on bottom and 4 on top); 1/2 cup shredded sharp Cheddar cheese; 5 eggs, beaten (could use 4 eggs); 1 cup milk; 1-2 teaspoons chopped fresh parsley; pinch of pepper; 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was SOOO good.... you get a much better result using bagels as opposed to bread as with other brunch casseroles. Some slight adjustments (or at least I thought they were slight adjustments....:) Like other readers, I also toasted and chopped the bagels, scattered them onto the bottom of the pan. Whisked the eggs and milk together with everything else, including the cheddar cheese, pouring over the bagels. I used 'everything' flavoured bagels, a good cup of chopped ham (slightly browned) rather than bacon and omitted the parmesan. The best adjustment / surprise however, was the sprinkling over the top of sliced canned jalapenos (about 1/2 cup) - that really tied it all together. Served with salsa and sour cream. It puffed up and browned beautifully. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great recipe for Christmas morning. Followed the suggestions from other reviews - used everything bagels and more bacon. Next time I make it, I would also add some green pepper and even more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I cut the recipe in half and it turned out great. I did tear up the bagel for better cutting and I made sure I pressed all the bagel down in the liquid with a spatula prior to soaking. I added cheese to the top layer like other suggested and did bake for about 40 minutes. Definitely making for next year, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNBCYRUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Made it for a church brunch with rave reviews!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Collar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
We ate this dish, but weren't overly impressed with the recipe as written. I followed the recipe as closely as possible, except I did add a couple extra slices of bacon and used onion powder in place of chopped onion. There just wasn't much flavor. All in all, just OK, so I probably won't make again. UPDATE: I had leftover sesame bagels so I made this again with some of the changes suggested in the reviews. I upped the bacon to 1 lb., used 14 eggs, and 2 1/4 c. milk. This time I used the onion and added garlic powder. Much better with these changes. Chopped bell pepper would be a nice addition, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Not bad, I loved that you could make it the night before and bake it the next day. I made this meatless. I enjoyed this, I will make again if I have some bagels to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was pretty good. It was a little watery from the milk. So next time I will decrease the milk. Otherwise it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
With all the great reviews I couldn't wait to try this as I love bagels and needed a change from the regular bread/egg bakes. It was very disappointing. I couldn't even see the bacon and the bagels were too bready for the ratio of egg. I won't make it again. I did cover it with foil the entire time it baked and baking time was adequate as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States