Badische Schupfnudeln (Potato Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I followed directions (boiled potatoes in their skin) and made them "as is". My "dough was very sticky. I probably used about one cup and the dough still couldn't be kneaded and was very sticky. I could not roll them out, so I formed fingers. I let them set and fried them. They are like fried mashed potatoes and very mushy inside. I think onion and/or garlic is needed to perk up the flavor. They are not at all like a noodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I just made this tonight for an Oktoberfest party I am attending tomorrow. I have never heard of this dish and made it simply for the event. OMG...it is soooo good! I had to threaten my family to make them stop stealing from the dish. I fried some sauerkraut, onions, apple and added bacon bits....served the potatoes over it. I had gotten the idea from other posts and other German recipes that I saw online. It might not be authentic German but, it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is an excellent recipe -- I followed it for the exception of cooking the noodles in lard, I used butter and it was fabulous. Everyone loved it. The browned butter on the crispy outsides contrasts nicely with the soft inside of the noodles. THey are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This recipe works correctly to produce authentic Schupfnudeln. However, as another reviewer pointed out, you must follow the instructions exactly to get the very dry, starchy potatoes this recipe requires. You must use the correct potatoes, meaning only russet baking potatoes. Red potatoes, Yukon gold potatoes, or any other kind of potatoes won't work. You must boil the potatoes IN THE SKIN. Heavily salting the water you boil the potatoes in also helps to draw moisture out of them. Peel the potatoes while they're still hot by holding them on a fork and using a paring knife to pull the skin off, much like pulling old skin off an old sunburn (sorry for the imagery, but that's exactly what the peeling process is like). Lightly mash the potatoes and add the egg while they're still hot, then quickly mix in the flour, being careful not to over mix. I don't roll out the dough, but rather roll bits of it between my palms to make soft, rustic noodles. They taste best cooked in bacon fat or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I cooked the wife a "German" meal for the first time after trying all the local restaurants through the years. I followed the directions as printed and didn't have a single problem. It's the easiest potatoes I have ever peeled. Probably used a little more flour than called for but just for handling and rolling. Cooked just enough for one meal and put the balance on wax paper in the freezer. Bagged them and cooked them later. Awesome. I'll probably spice the next batch a little bit with onion and garlic, but otherwise, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This recipe is great except for one factor... you need to bake the potatoes. I have tried twice by boiling the potatoes with the skins ON and the mixture still had too much water in it. If you bake the potatoes this recipe is really great and makes a good noodle. I recommend serving it with sauerkraut and bits of bacon. If you fry up the bacon first, you can use the bacon grease as your "lard" in this recipe. Cooking the bacon, sauerkraut and noodles over very low heat for 15 minutes will help the flavors of the three items blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reutlingen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Good recipe but who still uses lard? Nasty. Used butter instead, and they were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Great Recipe - The only thing I feel I need to remember is to use small potatoes! But really good :-D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I omitted the parsley and the nutmeg because when I was in Heidelburg and had this dish, it wasn't in it. Even though it was a little work, it was worth it. Browned them up and moved them into another pot with a little chopped onion and then added sauerkraut and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
big hit with my family! Time consuming, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States