Badische Schupfnudeln (Potato Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is an excellent recipe -- I followed it for the exception of cooking the noodles in lard, I used butter and it was fabulous. Everyone loved it. The browned butter on the crispy outsides contrasts nicely with the soft inside of the noodles. THey are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I just made this tonight for an Oktoberfest party I am attending tomorrow. I have never heard of this dish and made it simply for the event. OMG...it is soooo good! I had to threaten my family to make them stop stealing from the dish. I fried some sauerkraut, onions, apple and added bacon bits....served the potatoes over it. I had gotten the idea from other posts and other German recipes that I saw online. It might not be authentic German but, it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This recipe works correctly to produce authentic Schupfnudeln. However, as another reviewer pointed out, you must follow the instructions exactly to get the very dry, starchy potatoes this recipe requires. You must use the correct potatoes, meaning only russet baking potatoes. Red potatoes, Yukon gold potatoes, or any other kind of potatoes won't work. You must boil the potatoes IN THE SKIN. Heavily salting the water you boil the potatoes in also helps to draw moisture out of them. Peel the potatoes while they're still hot by holding them on a fork and using a paring knife to pull the skin off, much like pulling old skin off an old sunburn (sorry for the imagery, but that's exactly what the peeling process is like). Lightly mash the potatoes and add the egg while they're still hot, then quickly mix in the flour, being careful not to over mix. I don't roll out the dough, but rather roll bits of it between my palms to make soft, rustic noodles. They taste best cooked in bacon fat or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This recipe is NOT wrong, as other reviewers have suggested. Following the prep directions is very important. I cooked the potatoes with the skin on, peeled them after they had cooled slightly, and added the other ingredients (just a 1/2 cup of flour), just as the recipe says, and my dough was fine. If you keep the skins on while cooking it keeps the water out and you'll only need that 1/2 cup of flour, otherwise they get soggy and then it's necessary to use more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Great Recipe - The only thing I feel I need to remember is to use small potatoes! But really good :-D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I cooked the wife a "German" meal for the first time after trying all the local restaurants through the years. I followed the directions as printed and didn't have a single problem. It's the easiest potatoes I have ever peeled. Probably used a little more flour than called for but just for handling and rolling. Cooked just enough for one meal and put the balance on wax paper in the freezer. Bagged them and cooked them later. Awesome. I'll probably spice the next batch a little bit with onion and garlic, but otherwise, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I lived in Germany for three and a half years, and after stumbling across this recipie I knew I had to make it--the final product is an extremely authentic noodle, and tastes exactly like I remember. They are also very good sauteed with onion. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
SOOOOO excited to find this recipe!!! We had the BEST schupfnudeln at the Baden-Baden winter market two years ago and haven't been able to replicate it. Can't wait to try it!!! Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Perfect replica of what my grandma used to make! My grandpa enjoyed it immensely! I also like mine with onions added! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gifford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daplo
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Lovely! Tasted almost exactly like I remember from the Christmas Market in Germany. I omitted the parsley as I had none. Also used just a tad more flour. I added the browned nudeln to fried sauerkraut with chopped cooked bacon (similar to how they served it at the Christmas market). Such a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States