Badische Schupfnudeln (Potato Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This recipe is NOT wrong, as other reviewers have suggested. Following the prep directions is very important. I cooked the potatoes with the skin on, peeled them after they had cooled slightly, and added the other ingredients (just a 1/2 cup of flour), just as the recipe says, and my dough was fine. If you keep the skins on while cooking it keeps the water out and you'll only need that 1/2 cup of flour, otherwise they get soggy and then it's necessary to use more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This was a very good recipe, "almost" like what I also remembered from the Mannheim, Germany Christmas Market. I did make a few changes. Like others, I had to add more flour to get it to a texture to roll out. Probably 1 1/2 cups or more. Since I don't like things very bland, I added just a touch of garlic powder and paprika and thought that enhanced the taste. Other recipes had mentioned dropping the noodles in boiling salted water for about one minute (until they float to the top). I did this, lifting them out with a slotted spoon and draining them before putting them in the skillet to fry. I made these with seasoned saurkraut and chopped bacon and onions (like in Germany). My husband and I really enjoyed it. I had a lot of the uncooked noodles left over, so I put them on a cookie sheet and froze them, then put them in a plastic bag for another meal. Don't know yet how that will work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daplo
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Lovely! Tasted almost exactly like I remember from the Christmas Market in Germany. I omitted the parsley as I had none. Also used just a tad more flour. I added the browned nudeln to fried sauerkraut with chopped cooked bacon (similar to how they served it at the Christmas market). Such a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Yea!!! A "broocheban" recipe!!!! I have been searching for a recipe for years! My grandmother passed away while I was living overseas and I didn't have the opportunity to get it from her. She was a fabulous cook and I use many of her old recipes! So keen to make this! My brothers back home will be so jealous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Very similar to a good Gnocchi. The trick is to keep the potatoes from absorbing water which is why you have to keep the skins on the potatoes when boiling. Then, your input of flour will be lower and result in fluffier nudeln. Be careful of overmixing and/or adding too much flour you'll end up with gloppy, dense noodles. Also, a restaurant trick is to bake the potatoes in the oven, and it's very important to mix the egg in while the potatoes are still warm, otherwise the albumen won't react with the starch and it'll be harder to get a good quality nudeln
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Very good and fairly easy to make. Never made them before or anything like it so I am assuming that it turned out correct. Would have been easy to make into small patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Perfect replica of what my grandma used to make! My grandpa enjoyed it immensely! I also like mine with onions added! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gifford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I am a fan of Schupfnudeln!!! This recipe is quite good, I would just suggest some little changes. I would use floury potatoes and cook them the previous day, otherwise the flour is not sufficient. This also solves the problem of peeling. Also I personally always simmer the formed noodles before frying them (just like gnochi) ! Great recipe for great food...especially with sauerkraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
SOOOOO excited to find this recipe!!! We had the BEST schupfnudeln at the Baden-Baden winter market two years ago and haven't been able to replicate it. Can't wait to try it!!! Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Giving two stars due to incorrect directions and difficulty of preparation; it still tasted great after I did my own troubleshooting! The directions for the recipe do not work! I'd highly recommend peeling the potatoes before cooking as I lost half to the trash trying to peel soft potatoes! Also, the amount of flour suggested is bogus! For 6 servings it said 1/4 cup. I needed to add 2 cups before my potato mixture would even roll out on a heavily floured surface. Tasted good but didn't get very good "noodle" shapes due to low flour content. I'd recommend upping the flour. My grandmother made these for years and never gave a recipe before getting Alzheimer's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States