Bada Bing Bada Banged Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
These were amazing! I didn't parboil before, just cubed them and popped them in the oven to cook for about 40 min. They were so flavorful, and a recipe I will definitely repeat many times. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
While it may seem like a lot of seasoning, and it is, don’t skimp on any of the spices. You’ll be rewarded with boldly flavored potatoes that are surprisingly scrumptious. These are one of my husband's favorites, garnering the coveted “It’s a Ten!” acclamation. Ok, I know the site only rates to 5 stars but he said what he said. Be sure not to overcook the potatoes during the initial phase so they don't fall apart with gentle smashing. To save on clean up, I put the potatoes in a casserole, pour the oil and butter mixture over the potatoes and turn to coat well before gently smashing. I also used grated Parmesan from the plastic container for the spice mixture and added fresh grated Parmesan to the top of the potatoes during the last 5 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
We love this easy and super yummy recipe! My hubby even says this is his favorite food that I have ever made for him. I use small red potatoes but keep everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CelinasMommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I made some potatoes similar to this, and my mom made these Bada Bing potatoes and told me to try them compared to my own. This recipe tastes AMAZING, however, I found some flavors to be a little too over powering and overall I found it to be too greasy as well as time consuming. I said before I had been making my own potatoes which I like to call Italian Scalloped Potatoes that taste almost exactly the same. Instead of boiling and then baking, the potatoes are thinly sliced and layered in a dish with sprinkled herbs and cheese between each layer, then drizzled the butter and oil mixture over the top. They only bake for about 40 minutes but are very well done and taste as far as I can tell, pretty much like this. Its our favorite dish to take to parties and potlucks! To see my version, just visit my profile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Olson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Very good. Can use any combination of herbs to your liking. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Very good recipe! I used a bit more salt but other than that it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quinton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I served this at a large family gathering to rave reviews. A few modifications to make this easier, that may be helpful for others: I used a giant bulk-store can of white potatoes, 6.5 lbs, in place of new potatoes, and it worked great. To even out the proportion of spices, I simply used rounded spoonfuls of the original specifications (tbsp, tsp, etc.) and kept the oil/butter/cheese constant -- even then, there was too much oil, I would reduce this next time. After boiling the potatoes, I baked (instead of roasted) them in a metal disposable tin, which I prepared using layers of potatoes and spice/oil mixture. They turned out delicious, just too oily on the bottom -- the oiliness is what gives this recipe only 4 stars instead of 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This was very good and I will definitely make again! I followed the recipe almost exactly, but cut down the thyme (personal preference) and also used cayenne instead of red pepper flakes. It gave them a nice little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
excellent, wouldn't change a thing. The spice/herb blend was dead on and the crispiness is just awesome. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States