Bada Bing Bada Banged Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
We LOVED the flavor and crispness of these potatoes!!! Definitely a recipe that will be repeated and soon! Although we loved the taste of these, I did significantly change the process. For starters, when I mashed my potatoes they just fell apart into clumps, so I realized immediately that there would be no "tossing" of these or they would have completely fallen apart. I also didn't like the idea of combining the oil, butter, parmesan and spices. Instead I combined the oil and butter, and I separately combined the parmesan and spices. I drizzled half the oil mixture over the potatoes and then sprinkled with half the parmesan mixture. I carefully turned the potatoes over and repeated the drizzling and sprinkling. I assembled this ahead, covered and refrigerated until I popped it in the oven. After baking for 30 minutes I sprinkled the remaining parmesan cheese on top and broiled for about a minute, then added the parsley. The potatoes were creamy on the inside and wonderfully crispy on the outside! YUM! Since my "mashing" skills are apparently not up to par, I will skip that entirely and just cut my potatoes into chunks. Mashed or chunked give these a try!!! UPDATE: I made these again cutting my potatoes into chunks which was much easier for me. Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I've been making these potatoes for a couple of years now and are loved by everyone. They're flavorful, crispy and totally awesome! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This has got to be one of my top 3 recipes from this site. I LOVED these potatoes! I did not smash mine and used ground red pepper (cayanne) versus crushed due to preference in taste. They turned out FANTASTIC! I had scaled down the recipe because only 2 of us were going to eat these and I found myself wishing I would have just made the entire batch. OMG sooo Good! This would also be great as seasoned hashbrowns for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Absolutely Out-of-this-World Delicious! We had 10 for dinner this evening and every single person commented on how good these potatoes were! Followed the recipe with no alterations. These are so easy and extremely flavorful. Excellent. We will enjoy these again very soon. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I've rated lots of recipes on this site, (which I am addicted to by the way!), but I have never wanted more to have the option of rating higher than a 5. How about a 10, a 20, or perhaps a 60. I had no idea that potatoes could be this good. I did follow some of the reviewers advice and tossed the potatoes with the butter and oil and then sprinkled the cheese and spices on and tossed the potatoes on the cooking tray. Worked great. I did also turn the potatoes half way through the cook time. Oh my, so good. The crunchy bits left on the cooking pan were particularyl good. Will make this often. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
These were so delicious and crispy, the smell when baking them in the oven really does make your mouth water. Before boiling, I cut the potatoes into cubes, lightly gave them a smash, coated them in the butter/oil and then added all the herbs. I only garnished with the parsley and left out the extra parm because I thought they were cheesy and awesome just how they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
These were VERY good! I used baby red potatoes and used the bottom of a glass to smush them, they squished rather well. Wasn't able to toss them with anything but took the advice of another reviewer and sprinkled on one side and then sprinkled on the other. I also attempted to put them in the fridge over night and warm them when it was time to serve. That would have worked if I had the for sight not to cook them on a foil lined pan! They stuck to the foil! lol So these turned into more of a hash for me but everyone at the party I served them at, loved them and several asked for the recipe, so it worked out well! Thanks for the recipe... was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Yum, yum and yum! I loved these potatoes. I only had about 4 pounds of potatoes, but made the same amount of coating. Instead of smashing the potato, mixing into the coating and putting back onto the cookie sheet...I smashed them and then used my pastry brush to spread the coating over the potatoes. I loved all the flavors and the red pepper flakes definitely add some heat. I would suggest that if you aren't a big fan of heat, to decrease the amount of red pepper. Loved roasting them, they were crispy on the outside and nice and soft in the inside. I may also skip adding the additional parmesan cheese afterwards too, I think it had plenty in the coating. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Made these for company today and everyone loved them. Well everyone except the kids. They thought they were a little spicy. Loved how crispy they got in the oven! Followed recipe to exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States