Bada Bing Bada Banged Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I served this at a large family gathering to rave reviews. A few modifications to make this easier, that may be helpful for others: I used a giant bulk-store can of white potatoes, 6.5 lbs, in place of new potatoes, and it worked great. To even out the proportion of spices, I simply used rounded spoonfuls of the original specifications (tbsp, tsp, etc.) and kept the oil/butter/cheese constant -- even then, there was too much oil, I would reduce this next time. After boiling the potatoes, I baked (instead of roasted) them in a metal disposable tin, which I prepared using layers of potatoes and spice/oil mixture. They turned out delicious, just too oily on the bottom -- the oiliness is what gives this recipe only 4 stars instead of 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This was very good and I will definitely make again! I followed the recipe almost exactly, but cut down the thyme (personal preference) and also used cayenne instead of red pepper flakes. It gave them a nice little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
excellent, wouldn't change a thing. The spice/herb blend was dead on and the crispiness is just awesome. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Yummy! My daughter and I made these today for our husband's for Father's Day dinner. We had a toddler underfoot while the boys were out playing golf, so we didn't exactly measure everything out...but so simple and delicious! The Fathers were impressed. Will definitely make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason and Ella's G-Ma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Holts Summit, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
We thought these were excellent. Use whatever method seems best to you of getting the butter and seasonings on. I do think that it's important to do the potatoes in this "shape" for best results though, having made several recipes like this I can honestly say that the way the smashed potato fries in its own oil all nice and flat like that is a vast improvement over cubed or french-fry cut potatoes. Thanks for sharing your recipe, I served this with t-bones and salads and not a bit left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These are really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Oh these are sooooooo good. I am definitely going to be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Very good and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
OMG I can't believe how good these potatoes are! I wish I could rate it higher than 5 stars. My husband couldn't get enough of them and my 2-year-old son who doesn't like potatoes ate them up! These will definitely be a favorite in my family. I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't toss the potatoes with the spices. I did what other reviewers suggested and smashed the potatoes on the cookie sheet, then drizzled oil over them and sprinkled them with the spices, the turned them and sprinkled the spices on the other side. I turned them again half way through cooking. They turned out so nice! Crunchy on the outside and wonderfully creamy on the inside. They couldn't be more perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Everyone loved these potatoes. I didn't make enough :-) Only change is a added minced garlic, and cooked these in tin foil on the bbq
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Red Potatoes

See an easy recipe for roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States