Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This recipe was great! I don't know why the person halved their sauce and said that was even too much (maybe they used the sauce to dip in instead of cook in?) You do need all of the sauce. I only used this alternative recipe because I was out of chili sauce, and didn't really expect much from it, but it was very good. I did have to increase my cooking time because I used super thick hickory bacon. This is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Porter, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
My best friend makes these and I can NEVER get enough of them! Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
This recipe was a big hit at a recent party. The combination of flavors along with the crunch of the water chestnuts was truly unique. Since there were no kids to try it, I can't attest to how kid friendly it is, but I would imagine many would like it. Definitely a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Our family always marinates the chestnuts in a mixture of soy sauce & garlic, wraps in bacon & broils, for another way to do these delicious little treats. Try them for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I've never tried these with mayonaise. I have had delicious success with just rolling the chestnuts and bacon with brown sugar, then broiling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cleopatra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Made these a few times,once instead of making the sauce for them,I used a bottle of honey garlic sauce,just as delicious and it gives it a new flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
These were OK. Kind of putzy to make though. I thought the amount of the sauce ingredients sounded like quite a bit so I cut them in half and it was still too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Viroqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I needed something quick, easy and delicious to take to a potluck, and this was it! Disappeared so fast, my husband only got one! Thanks Nanci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
Great!! I love it, and I used to dislike water chestnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaineMamaOf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
The recipe I make calls for equal parts of chili sauce, brown sugar & Miracle whip....I forgot to buy chili sauce, so I tried this.....very good.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cris Bynum

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States