Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MizzTona
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Just made these and they turned out great! The only modification I did was 1 less cup of ketchup. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizzTona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This recipe is awesome and always a hit. There are never any left. My kids can smell them cooking from a mile away! I cook them about 20 minutes prior to draining them, then add the sauce, then cook them about 20 more. I often broil them at the end for about 2 minutes before I take them out of the oven. It caramelizes them and keeps them crispy. They're addictive. You cannot eat just one! Thank you for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Baked for 10-15 min on a baking sheet with a wire rack without sauce, then basted with the sauce and baked another 30 min. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This is truly a crowd pleaser. I have brought this appetizer to parties on several occasions and they are gone within minutes. I cook them on a wire rack on a cookie sheet. Putting aluminum foil down first really helps with the clean up. I put a little parsley on the plate too for presentation. Again, a crowd pleaser. Everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is the exact recipe I use and I absolutely LOVE these. The amount of sauce is perfect so don't half that. It's supposed to cook on the chestnuts and get nice and sticky. The tip I can give is to bake them on a wire rack so the bacon gets crispy all the way around and they aren't just sitting in fat (did that, awful). I line the pan that I use the wire rack on so it's easy clean up. I also recommend using a jelly roll pan so there's some room for the fat to drip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Our whole family loves these and we never have left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I have made this many times and this has been a constant hit. What I did was to put the bacon and water chestnuts for about 20-25 minutes and then blot them to take the grease out. 30 minutes before I want to serve them I would mix the sauce and cook them for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRZQU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made these for our New Year's Eve Party at work & everyone loved them!! They are really easy to make & delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I've been making these for years when we have family and friends in. Instead of the water chestnuts you can also use the watermelon rinds that come in a jar. A much sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These rock. I could eat the whole pan myself! Take them to potlucks or serve them at your parties...everyone will love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States