Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I make this all the time for my "dish" when invited to parties. The first baking I do on a rack over the disposable pan. I NEVER have to take leftovers or the pan home. I use thick cut bacon and cut in thirds, I have to stretch it some to go around the water chestnuts but it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abby Stocker
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
great! had to cook way longer than said to make them crispy but loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I have never made these before but decided to try something new for my engagement party... AND THE GUESTS LOVED THEM! They were the first appetizer to be completely gone and were asking for more. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe almost exactly. I thought it was good, but I think most of that was simply because I love sweet food! It tasted kind of like water chestnuts and bacon in a ketchup sauce. I like ketchup, but I'm not a big fan of ketchup-y sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Always the hit of every party that I bring them to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Delicious - huge hit at our Thanksgiving gathering. I cut each strip of back on thirds, though - and they were plenty long enough to wrap around the water chestnuts. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Yes this is the oldest, most amazing recipe-handed down to me by my mother in law! Everyone loves these and there are never any left over! Do not waver from the recipe with one exception-use Miracle Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This recipe is a staple for holidays, we bring them everywhere usually with some sweet baby rays bbq sauce in tow. This year we didn't have any bbq sauce so we looked up this recipe, made this to a T and they came out fabulous! I will make them this way from now on, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
One tip that makes a HUGE difference. Heat the sauce mix on the stove until the colour turns to caramel. The sugar will be dissolved and the flavours melded. Also I know there is smooth and chunky chili sauce, I prefer the chunky Willie's brand. I have been making this exact recipe for years. I have to make double, because they are half gone before the guests arrive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
**I found that you can circumvent the sogginess of leaving them in one baking dish, or having to transfer them to another - by simply placing a cooling rack into the baking dish and that will keep the wraps out of the grease/excess sauce. I used 'Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce" instead of the simple concoction listed here. Baked for 25 minutes to start, covered with sauce, and placed back in to bake for another 15 minutes. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrNoodles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States