Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
The best tip I can give for this recipe is to replace the ketchup with Devil's Spit bbq sauce. The little bit of spicy kick will complement the sweetness of the brown sugar extremely well.Also, wrap the chestnuts then pour the sauce over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briahlen Hand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Way too sweet. My kids and husband refused to eat them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lianx3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is a terrific recipe! I took the tip of wrapping them first and then I kind of dipped them into the sauce and used a brush to hit the tops.... I also baked them about 20 minutes prior to putting the sauce on and then baked another 30 to 40 minutes or so..... I used a 9x13 pan that has a rack that inserts on top and placed a foil lining underneath to catch the drippings, easy clean up! I had some leftovers and if you remove the toothpick, you can use the Presto Pizzazz pizza oven to heat them up, works great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Always a big hit! Every one is always devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Matthews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Fun, easy and always a treat for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Everyone loved it! Made it for New Years Eve and they didnt even last long,they were so good. I added a bit of orange juice to it and it was even better yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Absolutely love this sauce. I added some hot sauce, about 1/8 cup, you can add more or less depending on your preferences. I used a lb of turkey bacon and a lb of bacon. I also used 3 cans of water chestnuts and a package of lil smokey's. I wrapped the smokey's in both types of bacon and repeated with the water chestnuts. What I would do different is sprinkle them with some brown sugar and bake them until almost done (about 45 min), drain the fat, then add the sauce and bake for another 15-20 min or put in crockpot to cook on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Lopez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
FABULOUS!! I followed a couple of the suggestions from others who had tried and reviewed this recipe. I used sliced water chestnuts so I was able to control the size of the finished product. I used a cookie-cooling rack and placed it over an aluminum foil-lined pan and baked the chestnuts for 45-minutes at 350. I made the sauce the day before so the flavors could meld and the sauce thickened. After 45 minutes of baking, I dipped the water chestnuts in the sauce and returned them to the cookie-cooling sheet and baked for an additional 18-minutes. The sauce carmalized around the bacon and WOW. Also, after cutting the bacon slices into thirds, I then cut the third pieces vertically so I had two even strips of bacon. I then layed out the bacon pieces vertically and horizontally and wrapped them around the water chestnut. This appetitizer got rave reviews from our guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I bought fully-cooked bacon by Oscar Meyer so I could easily tear them in half lengthwise and width wise. Wrap the chestnuts and THEN pour the sauce over them. Took it to a party in an electric fry pan to warm them up and had extra toothpicks. I needed a quick and less messy solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I cut the bacon in half before wrapping, and bake for 30 minutes at 325. Then I drain the grease before adding the sauce. I then cook for another 30 minutes. I also found dipping the water chestnuts and bacon into the sauce covered them more evenly. Then I spoon the remaining sauce over each one to make sure it is good and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States