Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
I love this recipe!! I make it with out ketchup, though. All I do is wrap the water chestnuts in bacon and sprinkle brown sugar on them. YUMMMY!! They are addictive, so beware!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
One of my friends always makes these when she has a get together. They are delicious. They are always the first thing gone. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMMOELLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Awesome!! I love these, as does everyone who has tasted them! I sometimes add some ground red pepper or some hot pepper flakes/seeds to spice it up a little. It's very very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This is the how I make mine also but I wrap the bacon around the water chestnuts and bake them until the bacon is done. Usually 350 for 10 minutes. Then I put them in my crock-pot and pour the mixture on top. They are easy to serve at a party this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These were a big hit at my party! I received many compliments and several people asked me for the recipe! I definetly will serve these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I absolutely love this recipe and it is so easy to make. However, I cut the bacon into thirds and didn't need toothpicks to secure them. I cooked for 30 minutes without the sauce and drained as much grease as I could then used a spoon the pour the sauce onto each one then cooked for another 20-30 minutes. I doubled the recipe for a party and we a good bit of sauce left over so I had to make more later that week. Quick, easy and delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I love bacon wrapped water chestnuts. They taste great and you can serve them with so many different sauces. They seem to go with everything, even honey. I also love them in a mustard sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
These tasty morsels are always so popular when I bring them to a party. I cut the bacon in thirds, wrap each whole water chestnut with the bacon (securing each with a toothpick), then dollop each one with Masterpiece BBQ sauce. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes and just wait for the compliments! Everyone is so amazed at how easy they are to make when I tell them the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
My family really loved this recipe, out of all the appetizers we made for a party this was the best. I made a few changes to the basice recipe though. I precooked the bacon in the microwave, and heated up the ketchup and sugar in a pot ahead of time to make the sauce, poured it over the bacon wrapped water chestnuts on a baking sheet where i baked them in the oven for 5 minutes. Also i used half regular ketchup, half kickers for some extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
The texture of the water chestnuts really compliments the bacon and sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States