Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This is the how I make mine also but I wrap the bacon around the water chestnuts and bake them until the bacon is done. Usually 350 for 10 minutes. Then I put them in my crock-pot and pour the mixture on top. They are easy to serve at a party this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
I love this recipe!! I make it with out ketchup, though. All I do is wrap the water chestnuts in bacon and sprinkle brown sugar on them. YUMMMY!! They are addictive, so beware!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
I did what one reviewer suggested and omited the ketchup. I only sprinkled brown sugar on top. They were delicious - my husband couldn't get enough of them! I did have a little problem with getting the bacon browned so I put the broiler on for a few minutes at the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDERMOM
Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Recipe was great. We had these at our wedding and not one was left. Although, i suggest cooking the bacon in the microwave a few minutes before wrapping, it was easier to wrap and it makes the bacon a little crispier. Just WAIT till they cool a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
I found a better receipe - pre-fry the bacon a little first. make the sauce with a jar of current jelly and chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
My grandma has been making these tasty little morsels for years. She would do one thing different though. She wrapped the chestnuts in bacon, baked them until brown and then dipped each one in the sauce with a toothpick and arranged them nicely on a plate... So easy, yet so good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIVE1OFFUN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
One of my friends always makes these when she has a get together. They are delicious. They are always the first thing gone. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMMOELLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I absolutely love this recipe and it is so easy to make. However, I cut the bacon into thirds and didn't need toothpicks to secure them. I cooked for 30 minutes without the sauce and drained as much grease as I could then used a spoon the pour the sauce onto each one then cooked for another 20-30 minutes. I doubled the recipe for a party and we a good bit of sauce left over so I had to make more later that week. Quick, easy and delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
My family really loved this recipe, out of all the appetizers we made for a party this was the best. I made a few changes to the basice recipe though. I precooked the bacon in the microwave, and heated up the ketchup and sugar in a pot ahead of time to make the sauce, poured it over the bacon wrapped water chestnuts on a baking sheet where i baked them in the oven for 5 minutes. Also i used half regular ketchup, half kickers for some extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
The sauce turned out to be too thick and dipping was difficult. I had to spoonon the sauce. Also it too alot longer than the time mentioned to cook. I liked the out come but I'm going to try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States