Bacon-Wrapped Venison Tenderloin with Garlic Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ijbrowning
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Made this for the crew at the firehouse tonight and BAM, what a hit. I had a much larger tenderloin I cut in half and bought extra bacon. I wrapped each half completely around in bacon and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Tenderloin is NOT a backstrap. It will not survive 375F for an hour in the oven. It is treasured by the hunter,the most valuable and tender meat on the deer. Cut 3/4" slices, sprinkled lightly with fajita seasoning, few drops of Italian salad dressing spread with a knife and dredged in unbleached flour. Fry on hot bacon drippings 3-4 minutes each side. DONE! That is why is usually cooked in the camp, since it is small, precious a quick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czechmate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Wow what a recipe !! My husband is a hunter and just came home with some venison he loves the tenderloin , and when I saw this recipe,knew he would love it !! Very simple and was delicious we both loved it !! It's a keeper ! The cream sauce was so delicious , we will use it in other dishes I'm sure !! Only item deleted was mushrooms ( he hates them )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjorie Mudd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
The recipe ti easy to follow and the results were amazingly delicious. The sauce is so tasty though I thickened mine with a bit of masa and I was in heaven while eating. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
SUCCESS! I moved the backstrap from the freezer into the refrigerator last night, when I went to cook it tonight it was still partially frozen. I cooked it for 45mins, skipped the olive oil and put the spices on top of the bacon after i wrapped the venison in it. husband said, "write down every step you made so you can duplicate it!!" thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jim
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Actually I combined this recipe with another. I used another recipe for the marinade of red wine and apple vinegar ,garlic ,rosemary and thyme. I marinaded the two loins and 8 small steaks overnight. Reduced the marinade and added two tablespoons of grape jelly to tone down the tang of the vinegar. I seared the loins in a black iron skillet with ghee and then wrapped the loins in the bacon,took more like 15 minutes to get the bacon right at 350 in the oven. I then sautéed 2 shallots,3 cloves of garlic 1 sweet onion and 3 cups of mushrooms in the bacon drippings. Placed the mushrooms in a baking dish with the bacon wrapped loins and baked for about 40 minutes. Seared the steaks in bacon fat. I removed the bacon ,diced it and crisped it up in the skillet while the loins rested. Plated the sliced loins atop the mushrooms along with the steaks. Drizzled sauce over meat and garnished with bacon and scallions. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Huntmom is my new hero! This recipe is fabulous! This was my first time ever cooking a venison tenderloin and I was super nervous and anxious to get it right. This came out super tender and downright moist. After reading the other reviews, I used one tenderloin instead of two, but still used the same amount of bacon. I cut the tenderloin in half and stacked it so that I was more closely following the recipe, but again, it was my first one, so I don't know if that was necessary. Also, because of the comment about the "runny" sauce, I added about a half tablespoon of cornstarch to it (put the cornstarch in a small cup or ramekin, then stir in a teaspoon at a time of the heated cream sauce until it goes from paste to liquid and then add it back to the sauce). It was a wonderful, thick sauce that was a perfect compliment to the tenderloin. BTW, the crimini mushrooms were exactly the right choice. The "earthy" flavor is perfect with the game taste of the venison...and the game flavor is toned down by the cream sauce. As far as cooking time, because of the comments I started checking temp at twenty minutes. It actually took the full hour for mine to cook completely. Great, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Delicious, wouldn't change a thing about this recipe! We have made this with venison and pork tenderloin. They work equally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnette DuFord

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
My husband liked this very much. I used a bit more cream and a half tsp of flour to thicken the mushroom sauce a bit more. An hour in the oven is way too long, I think I had it in there 40 min and it was medium well, only a hint of pink left and fully cooked. So cook it less if you want a medium or a medium-rare. Knowing that, increase you pre-cook time of the bacon for a min or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly. Ended up being overdone. I would definitely not leave it in the oven for a full hour. I read the other reviews as well and they all said the same thing. This was my first time cooking venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States